SitePoint Sponsor

User Tag List

Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

Best U.S. City or region for a Web Development firm to establish itself

I have been studying website design for the past year and have taken many
    classes, seminars, etc. As background on myself, I've built six e-commerce sites,
    but am probably beginning-intermediate level for technical skills. On the business side,
    I have extensive experience from past consulting and tech ventures.
    Now, I'm gearing up to really begin building my web development firm.

I have an MSCS and did technical work for 15 years, then branched off
    into the business side of things. I am coming back to this because I
    enjoy the work, specifically the hybrid technical/business nature of this business.
    I don't want to hand all the technical work off to someone else, as I'll be doing a lot of it myself.
    But there will be a lot of subcontracting too, and eventually technical employees.

What I'm wondering is, what would be the best U.S. metropolitan area
    to base myself, in order to attract the most consistent steady flow of clients,
    assuming I execute my business competently? Being recently divorced,
    I have the flexibility to relocate to any major U.S. city. I am in the midwest
    (KC area) temporarily and am getting some project work here, but am
    wondering where the most demand is, and how the competitive situation
    shapes up for web design and programming firms around the U.S.

My target market is small to medium size businesses and I'm interested
    in developing a substantial client base and building it up to a small
    staff over a several-year period.

I lived in the SF Bay Area for 15 years, but there is so much technical talent there.
    Isn't the competitive environment really tough? Presently, I'm looking at Phoenix,
    New York City, Miami/Ft Lauderdale, Las Vegas, et cetera, but am open to
    suggestions on any other cities that may be ideal.