SitePoint Sponsor

User Tag List

Results 1 to 17 of 17
  1. #1
    SitePoint Evangelist FCC's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Posts
    417
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    IE and Favicon Not Appearing

    Hello all,

    Can anyone explain to me why this favicon shows up in FF, but not in IE6?

    http://www.cfsc.org.hk/rehab/Mental%...0Care/test.php

  2. #2
    SitePoint Wizard silver trophybronze trophy Nadia P's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    NSW Australia
    Posts
    3,564
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Favicons are not always reliable - and IE is a culprit for this. Sometimes it can show up sometimes it doesn't.

    Nadia

  3. #3
    Night Elf silver trophybronze trophy Varelse's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    eu
    Posts
    5,967
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)
    Bookmark your site and it'll work fine. It's IE6
    You can also send a shortcut to desktop and open it again from there. Favicon should appear after that.
    FreelanceDaddy - freelancer's personal advisor
    █ Guide and advice for freelancers starting their career
    █ Over 1000 projects posted on freelance markets every day
    █ One-stop resource for online freelancing

  4. #4
    SitePoint Evangelist FCC's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Posts
    417
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    What the heck.....so in other words the occasional visitor would not see my all mightly favicon?

    FRICK YOU IE!!! You make web designer's life a living heck!

  5. #5
    SitePoint Addict
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Paris
    Posts
    370
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    LOL yes but would webdesigning be such an exciting challenge without inconsistancies coming from the almight IE6 and even from brother IE7 beta? lol

    Without those two and their cousin IE 5.2/Mac nobody would ever feel the extreme joy of finding the perfect hack/workaround that renders our nicely crafted layout the way it should be in the IE family. That feeling that you get when you apply that CSS hack with sexy conditional statement and bootylicious stuff like _margin or /*\/* can't be replaced by the simple and predictible joy of seeing your design work in whatever browser a visitor use!
    On a PHP/Java/XML/Javascript/MySQL internship right now!

  6. #6
    Non-Member Egor's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Melbourne, Australia
    Posts
    7,305
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by motion-ex
    ...and their cousin IE 5.5/Mac
    5.2

  7. #7
    SitePoint Addict
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Paris
    Posts
    370
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    i don't have a mack anyway correction Done Miss!
    On a PHP/Java/XML/Javascript/MySQL internship right now!

  8. #8
    Non-Member Egor's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Melbourne, Australia
    Posts
    7,305
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by motion-ex
    i don't have a mack anyway correction Done Miss!
    Lol.

  9. #9
    SitePoint Addict
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Posts
    263
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I think this will work fine in IE 7 (If I remember well, I saw it working in the beta 1)

  10. #10
    SitePoint Wizard bronze trophy Tyssen's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Brisbane, QLD
    Posts
    4,067
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by motion-ex
    LOL yes but would webdesigning be such an exciting challenge without inconsistancies coming from the almight IE6 and even from brother IE7 beta? lol
    Yeah, but we might also get to use a whole lot of other useful CSS features like child selectors, dynamic pseudo class selectors, display: table etc without being stopped because: "oh yeah, that doesn't work in IE".

  11. #11
    Carpe Diem = Fish of the Day fisherboy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    New Zealand
    Posts
    488
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    If you want to see something really odd, open your page in IE6. The blue "e" will appear where you want your favicon in the address bar. Click and hold on the "e" and pretend to drag and drop it on to the page body several times.

    See what happens........
    fisherboy
    Web Site Design

  12. #12
    SitePoint Evangelist FCC's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Posts
    417
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by fisherboy
    If you want to see something really odd, open your page in IE6. The blue "e" will appear where you want your favicon in the address bar. Click and hold on the "e" and pretend to drag and drop it on to the page body several times.

    See what happens........
    Haha. Crazy Stuff. Got to love IE and it's tricks.

  13. #13
    Designer
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Manila
    Posts
    590
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by motion-ex
    LOL yes but would webdesigning be such an exciting challenge without inconsistancies coming from the almight IE6 and even from brother IE7 beta? lol

    Without those two and their cousin IE 5.2/Mac nobody would ever feel the extreme joy of finding the perfect hack/workaround that renders our nicely crafted layout the way it should be in the IE family. That feeling that you get when you apply that CSS hack with sexy conditional statement and bootylicious stuff like _margin or /*\/* can't be replaced by the simple and predictible joy of seeing your design work in whatever browser a visitor use!
    I thought you could put a script into the code so that the page that appears would be the one you optimized for that browser?

  14. #14
    SitePoint Wizard bronze trophy Tyssen's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Brisbane, QLD
    Posts
    4,067
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by XLCowBoy
    I thought you could put a script into the code so that the page that appears would be the one you optimized for that browser?
    I don't think you'll find too many people creating different versions of pages for different browsers anymore. Far easier to create a page that works in all of them.

  15. #15
    SitePoint Evangelist FCC's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Posts
    417
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by XLCowBoy
    I thought you could put a script into the code so that the page that appears would be the one you optimized for that browser?
    I can't even begin to imagine how much work that would take when making an update. Then modifying all the scripts to make it optimised for each browser......

  16. #16
    Guru Meditation Error gnarly's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    Cheltenham, United Kingdom
    Posts
    692
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    ...then fixing them all because a new browser came out, not to mention keeping up to date with the latest versions of IE, Firefox, Galeon, Camino, kHTML, Opera, SeaMonkey, Escape, iBrowse, Safari, Omniweb, OperaMini, RSA Openwave... No, it hurts just thinking about it.
    Olly Hodgson
    thinkdrastic.net

  17. #17
    Designer
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Manila
    Posts
    590
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Crikey. Forget I even mentioned it. Lol.


Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •