SitePoint Sponsor

User Tag List

Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    SitePoint Addict
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    uk
    Posts
    240
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    line spacing in IE5....can i resolve this?

    Hi,

    on this page

    the spacing between the lines of text is huge...is there any way to fix this?

    Thanks for any help,

    Janice

  2. #2
    The CSS Clinic is open silver trophybronze trophy
    Paul O'B's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    Hampshire UK
    Posts
    40,367
    Mentioned
    180 Post(s)
    Tagged
    6 Thread(s)
    Hi,

    Yes its the styles you are using for ie7 that are confusing things. You must have a space around the universal selector otherwise ie5 gives all elements a 99% height.

    Code:
    <!--[if IE]> 
     <style type="text/css"> 
     * +html{height:99%;} 
     * +html .x{background: #f2fcff url(images/bgd_slice.jpg) fixed repeat-x 0 77px;}
     </style> 
     <![endif]-->
    Note the space after the universal selector.

    You wouldn't expect divp {color:red} to work when you meant div p {color:red} would you The universal selector replaces any element so you must have a space around it e.g. div * {} not div*{}.

  3. #3
    SitePoint Addict
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    uk
    Posts
    240
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Hi Paul,

    Thank you for your help with this.
    This site is giving me a real headache...i can get it to display great in all browsers apart from IE5 and it's imperative that it works in IE5 as research into the end user of this site shows there's a fair percentage still using it.

    We are now working with this layout as it's good in all browsers except IE5.
    The problem is that IE5 is adding scrollbars on every element. do you think it's possible to rework the css so as to filter style through to IE5 and get it to work?
    It doesn't matter if the fixed header and footer have to go...it just needs to work, but using the same html because we don't want to have to rework for the other browsers?
    As an expert Paul, is this possible, can we get IE5 to display this page so it looks like a functional page?

    Thanks you again for your help,

    j

  4. #4
    SitePoint Addict
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    uk
    Posts
    240
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Hi Paul,

    actually i think the space on the universal selector has done it.

    Ccould someone give the page a quick whirl in IE5?

  5. #5
    SitePoint Zealot
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Ohio USA
    Posts
    171
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    The xml prologue is throwing IE6 into quirks mode.

    You can work out differences between IE5 and 6 but it seems that IE6, though it is using the porked box model from IE5 when it is in quirks mode, doesn't display everything the same with that box model.

    If the pages are going to be served as text/html, drop the xml prologue to put IE into standards mode. It'll make discrepencies much easier to work out.

  6. #6
    The CSS Clinic is open silver trophybronze trophy
    Paul O'B's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    Hampshire UK
    Posts
    40,367
    Mentioned
    180 Post(s)
    Tagged
    6 Thread(s)
    Yes its working ok in ie5 because I tested it before I gave you the code

    Quote Originally Posted by zachnefein

    The xml prologue is throwing IE6 into quirks mode.
    Yes, that's the point Ie6 needs quirks mode for that demo to work because it restricts the height to 100% regardless of padding etc.

    You can do it in standards mode but its a little more complicated and relies on a different concept.

    http://www.pmob.co.uk/temp/fixedlayoutexample5.htm


Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •