SitePoint Sponsor

User Tag List

Results 1 to 12 of 12
  1. #1
    Internet Business Optimizer KCgame's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Singapore
    Posts
    929
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Enter key not working in IE6

    Hi all,

    I have a PR checking script at:

    http://useseo.com/checkpr.php

    It is working fine in FF when i input the domain and press the 'Enter' key but its not working when I do the same thing in IE.. may I know what is causing the problem?

    Thanks.

  2. #2
    SitePoint Wizard
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Nelson BC
    Posts
    2,310
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    It looks like it's submitting but it's not returning anything.

    Are you checking the value of the submit button in checkpr.php? Maybe that's the problem.

  3. #3
    Programming Team silver trophybronze trophy
    Mittineague's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    West Springfield, Massachusetts
    Posts
    17,032
    Mentioned
    187 Post(s)
    Tagged
    2 Thread(s)

    script problems

    Please post at least some of the checkpr.php file's script (the link you posted only shows the resulting mark-up), as I'm sure that's where the problem is.

  4. #4
    Internet Business Optimizer KCgame's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Singapore
    Posts
    929
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    The following is an overview of my code layout:

    PHP Code:
    if(isset($_POST[check])&&$_POST[prurl]!=NULL){
    // some php codes here, get PR
    }

    echo
    '<form name="prform" action="checkpr.php" method="post">';    

    echo
    'Page URL: <input class="inputp" type="text" name="prurl" size="60"> <i>(eg. www.useseo.com)</i><p></p><input type="submit" name="check" value="Get PR">';

    echo
    '</form><p></p>'
    Anything wrong?

  5. #5
    Programming Team silver trophybronze trophy
    Mittineague's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    West Springfield, Massachusetts
    Posts
    17,032
    Mentioned
    187 Post(s)
    Tagged
    2 Thread(s)

    form

    I usually name my subits "submit", but I think the problem might be with the POST vars. Instead of
    PHP Code:
    if(isset($_POST[check])&&$_POST[prurl]!=NULL){ 
    Try
    PHP Code:
    if(isset($_POST['check'])&&$_POST['prurl']!=NULL){ 
    with the quotes.

  6. #6
    Internet Business Optimizer KCgame's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Singapore
    Posts
    929
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Hi Mittineague,

    Thanks for your help but it still couldn't solve the problem.. can't really think of anything else

  7. #7
    Programming Team silver trophybronze trophy
    Mittineague's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    West Springfield, Massachusetts
    Posts
    17,032
    Mentioned
    187 Post(s)
    Tagged
    2 Thread(s)

    PR script

    It works for me (well, sort of), In IE 6, Firefox 1.5.0.4, and Opera 8.54 with Window 98.
    A "shecking page rank for - [link to website] appears.
    Then there is a sequence of incrementing green numbers switching to an image of the last number.

    ------------------------ IE -- Ff -- Op
    www.mittineague.com -- 2 -- 0 -- 2
    www.useseo.com ------ 4 -- 4 -- error message
    Warning: file(http://www.google.com/search?client=navclient-auto&ch=6-98766925&features=Rank&q=info: www.useseo.com): failed to open stream: HTTP request failed! in /home/useseo/public_html/checkpr.php on line 109

  8. #8
    SitePoint Wizard
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Nelson BC
    Posts
    2,310
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    You're checking to see if $POST["check"] has a value - it's possible that in IE it won't have a value unless it's clicked. Try removing that test...ie:
    if($_POST['prurl']!=NULL){

    instead of the isset line.

  9. #9
    Internet Business Optimizer KCgame's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Singapore
    Posts
    929
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by jimfraser
    You're checking to see if $POST["check"] has a value - it's possible that in IE it won't have a value unless it's clicked. Try removing that test...ie:
    if($_POST['prurl']!=NULL){

    instead of the isset line.
    Tried that but it still couldn't solve the problem.. thanks for the help so far.

  10. #10
    SitePoint Wizard
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Nelson BC
    Posts
    2,310
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Well it's definitely submitting the form when I press enter in IE, so it's gotta be some PHP code problem I reckon.

  11. #11
    Internet Business Optimizer KCgame's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Singapore
    Posts
    929
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by jimfraser
    Well it's definitely submitting the form when I press enter in IE, so it's gotta be some PHP code problem I reckon.
    I think it differently.. php is parsed at server and since its working for FF, the php codes should not pose a problem here. I would say that there is some client side issues here *staring at IE*

  12. #12
    SitePoint Wizard
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Nelson BC
    Posts
    2,310
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I only say that because when I type something and press enter:

    The IE flag waves around
    The %completed progress bar goes quickly from 0 to 100% and the page reloads.
    For a split second the status bar says "Opening page http://useseo.com/checkpr.php"

    I just wrote a quick test page with a form field and a submit button, with a backend to show me what I submitted.

    In firefox when I fill the text field and hit enter it shows both the text field and the submit button values as received.

    In IE when I fill the text field and click the submit button it also shows both values as received.

    In IE when I fill the field and hit enter it does NOT show the submit button value as received, exactly what is happening with your code. For that reason I feel you must be checking in your PHP to see if the submit button value was received, and if not, don't display the PR info.


Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •