SitePoint Sponsor

User Tag List

Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    SitePoint Wizard subnet_rx's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Location
    Hattiesburg, MS
    Posts
    1,085
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    IE problem with tables

    For some reason, IE is kicking my first content column over. The problem doesn't show up in Firefox. My first assumption was that it was a padding issue, but I've defined margin and padding to be 0 for all elements unless specified. Any ideas?

    Link to page

  2. #2
    Non-Member deathshadow's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    Dublin, NH
    Posts
    901
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I'd suspect a tag not being closed - being the page doesn't validate but declares itself XHTML 1.1, I'd REALLY suspect a tag not being closed or being closed one too many times, or multiple non-XHTML elements being present... Which there are.

    6) Error Line 32 column 17: end tag for element "div" which is not open.
    or closing one too many...

    Error Line 45 column 50: ID "lcontent" already defined.
    <td width="266" align="left" valign="top" id="lcontent" bgcolor="#FCF6D6">

    or ID not being assigned because you cannot have two elements with the same ID - use a class instead.

    Info Line 39 column 118: ID "lcontent" first defined here.
    ...left_home.gif" bgcolor="#000000" id="lcontent">


    ok, you've got four or five of those... This is your most likely culprit as the multiple ID's is confusing IE.

    As the FAQ for the forums says, run it past a validator... Because right now you have a WHOLE BUNCH of HTML 4 labelled XHTML.

  3. #3
    SitePoint Wizard bronze trophy Tyssen's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Brisbane, QLD
    Posts
    4,067
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    You should also change your doctype. XHTML 1.1 is s'posed to be served as application/xml+xhtml, not text/html. Drop back to XHTML 1.0.

  4. #4
    Non-Member deathshadow's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    Dublin, NH
    Posts
    901
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by Tyssen
    You should also change your doctype. XHTML 1.1 is s'posed to be served as application/xml+xhtml, not text/html. Drop back to XHTML 1.0.
    Seconded, and being there's a LOT of elements like bgcolor and align, I'd go to 1.0 transitional at that. (given what I see, definately not ready for strict)

  5. #5
    SitePoint Wizard subnet_rx's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Location
    Hattiesburg, MS
    Posts
    1,085
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I had went back through this morning and validated the code, but I had copied the header from some other source code I was using. This is something like the 4th time I've started from scratch, this time going completely to tables because I was having so much trouble with a 4-column CSS layout. Anyway, I changed the doctype, corrected the code to just minor things, and still get a space.

    EDIT: Correction, the current version completely validates in Tidy.

    LAST EDIT: Found it, the table was 800px, and the header image was 800px. For some reason, IE needed 5 more pixels.

  6. #6
    SitePoint Wizard bronze trophy Tyssen's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Brisbane, QLD
    Posts
    4,067
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by subnet_rx
    EDIT: Correction, the current version completely validates in Tidy.
    Tidy should be used as a guide only; it is not completely accurate. You need to use the W3C validator to ensure complete validity.


Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •