SitePoint Sponsor

User Tag List

Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1
    SitePoint Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Posts
    3
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    JS Menu - Onmouseover flickering problems - Hard to duplicate

    Hello all. I am working on a site for my company and I have exhausted my knowledge on this issue and appreciate any feedback.

    situation:

    I have a menu that when you rollover for the first time, the opacity is increased. After 10 seconds of the mouse being outside the menu (div), the menu fades the opacity to a lower lever (50%). What is happening on some versions of IE, when you mouseover the div, it is causing the background images within to dissappear. We have 15 computers in the office and only 2 will show this error.

    <div onmouseover onmouseout>

    .... inside of the parent div is three tables ...

    ... inside of each table are <td> and <img onmouseover onmouseout>

    <div>

    I have tried to cancel bubbling, propagation. I have read quirksmode
    (http://www.quirksmode.org/js/) on the relatedTarget, fromTarget, toTarget, but nothing seems to fix this issue on the computers where it occurs.

    The very strange thing is if I log in under a different account on one of the problem computers, I do not get this behavior. It makes me think that it is not an event error, but rather some personal settting, toolbars, etc on the users windows profile. This only happens in IE, not firefox, safari, opera.

    Thanks for any suggestions

    http://www.seaislandproperties.com/r...itieshome.html

  2. #2
    SitePoint Enthusiast
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    50
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Sounds like IE playing it's caching tricks.

    Try this. Go to Tools -> Internet Options -> Tempory Internet files -> Settings and check which option is selected. I'm going to guess that if it's on 'Every visit' then the image will dissapear, and if it's on the second one then it'll be ok.

    Maybe..

  3. #3
    SitePoint Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Posts
    3
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    You are the man. Thats exactly it. Any ides on how to stop it from happening if the user has that checked?

  4. #4
    SitePoint Enthusiast
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    50
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I don't think i've ever had it so serious as you've got it, so haven't really tried to get around it..

    Just found this though, might be worth a try if you can

  5. #5
    SitePoint Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Posts
    3
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Man I can't thank you enough. Added the cutom header in IIS and now we are all good. If I can ever help you, I owe you one.

    Thanks
    David

  6. #6
    SitePoint Enthusiast
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    50
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Cool, nice one. I'm sure I'll find that useful sometime too!

    Glad I could help.

  7. #7
    SitePoint Wizard Pepejeria's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Too far up north
    Posts
    1,566
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Would be interesting to see a solutin for Tomcat as well


Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •