User Tag List

SitePoint Member
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

Who is right? (Copyright)

Hello every one
    I am a customer with an programmer. The programmer said that he want to put his name and his website in the pages that he programmed it, while I do not. Does he has the right to do that? or he can but his name inside the coding but not in front of pages which I do not mined.
    In another way, I do not let people know who programmed my site (for some reasons) but I do not mined if he write his name inside coding but does not appear for visitor. Am I have a right to stop that?
    If there is a source for your answer please drop it here.

regards

Note: I am not sure about the right place for my question, apologize me if I wrote in wrong forum

SitePoint Addict
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    What does your written agreement say with respect to that question?

SitePoint Member
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Hi sonjay
    Thank you for your reply. Unfortunately the agreement does not say anything about my question. He said it is international law (common known law) and we do not need to say anything about it (he means, writing the name of the programmer in the pages of the project is known internationally and it is by the law and a part of programmer right(. Is he right?

regards,
    Last edited by Acustomer; Jul 12, 2006 at 15:24.

SitePoint Wizard bronze trophy
    Mentioned
    10 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Unless you agreed to this in the project contract, you are not required to allow him to put a link to his site/creditation on your site.

SitePoint Addict
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Shadowbox is right -- in the absence of a clause in the contract addressing this issue, there's no such requirement.