User Tag List

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
    SitePoint Addict
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

Number of Style Sheets

Is it a good idea to have a main stylesheet for the basic format of the site adn then have individual or stylesheets for groups of pages with particularities so that the main style sheet isn't too cluttered?

Or should i just have one stylesheet?

What do you typically do?

I think that one style sheet can get cluttered. With revisions, it is hard to tell what needs to be deleted and what should stay and how and where this rule applies--Is it on this page or some other page?

I'm also afraid that dozens of stylesheet may be hard to manage. I've never done this before so before i make a big mess, i want to know if there are any dangers to breakin this stuff out.

What do you guys do?

Take care and Thanks!

SitePoint Member
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I generally use just one style sheet - sometimes two. It can get cluttered though. Whatever method you choose make sure you put comments in, it makes it much easier to find which styles apply to which areas.

Carpe Diem = Fish of the Day fisherboy's Avatar
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I used to use multiple style sheets but it became a real headache to maintain. For each page I had to look at the code and find out which style sheet I was using.

Now I do one sheet and comment it a lot if its big. The find function is also particularly useful!
    fisherboy
    Web Site Design

SitePoint Evangelist spinmaster's Avatar
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Depending on the size of the site, I usually also stick with just one and comment it properly...
    Last edited by spinmaster; Jul 13, 2006 at 04:53.

Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)