SitePoint Sponsor

User Tag List

Hybrid View

Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

Should I wait and learn ASP.NET

OK, I finally get it. Microsoft is re-releasing alot of its technologies under the .NET arcitecture. I wondering if I should bother to learn ASP or wait a little for ASP.NET to catch on. I don't want to basically waste my time learning VBScript and then have to learn VB.NET.

I have a strong base in C derived languages (PERL, PHP etc.) and can do well with ColdFusion (easiest lanugage to learn!) but I want to expand so I can program on both the major platforms, *nix and Windows. I know the VERY basic syntax for VBScript, just from reading on 4guysfromrolla.com and Kevin Yank's articles. Should I scrap all that and grab a new book on VB.NET (ASP.NET) or will it carry over? I know the new pages use an entirely different engine, what changes have been implemented that will affect a total newbie?

Basically what I'm asking is should I wait 3 months for the new technology picks up, dive in now and be ahead of the curve or program in "Old Skool" ASP?

Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Similar question:
    Should I learn C first and then go to C++ or should I learn C++ directly?

Answer: whatever you learn first you should know both.

Reason: There is a lot of C code out there.

The same case should apply for ASP too. Not each and every website will upgrade to ASP.NET overnight. And also I am not sure when will Microsoft release ASP.NET and what will be the final product (syntax, etc...). So for the time being do learn ASP.
    TinyPlanet.org
    Discuss and Debate World Events, Politics and Religion.
    Interact and Share your Views with People around the Globe.

Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    What software required to learn ASP.net? As asp requires Windows 2000, IIS.

Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    ASP.NET or Visual Studio .NET. Search at http://msdn.microsoft.com/