SitePoint Sponsor

User Tag List

Results 1 to 8 of 8
  1. #1
    SitePoint Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Location
    Saginaw, MI
    Posts
    80
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Watermark anyone?

    Hello all,

    Just wondering if anyone knows of a good script to create a watermark. I found one at http://www.myfreetoolbox.com/watermark.shtml

    but it's not exactly what I need...In a perfect world I would like this to act as a background...so the layer above it with links will still work...and the watermark has true absolute positioning, so the graphic doesn't move when a browser window is shrunk...and if its not asking to much, it would be nice to position the watermark myself (much like positoning any other graphic on a page)...

    I'm I asking too much or can all this be done...
    If anyone has any suggestions or knows of any tutorials,I'm all eyes

    Thanks,

    Sundari

  2. #2
    Prolific Blogger silver trophy Technosailor's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Location
    Before These Crowded Streets
    Posts
    9,446
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    sounds like you're trying to preserve the integrity of the photo and not edit it directly. I might make a duplicate and just go into your graphics erditing software and type your watermark over the image. Then you wouldn't have to worry about absolute postioning, etc. It would all be embedded in the image....that is unless you WANT to do all that other stuff...

    Sketch
    Aaron Brazell
    Technosailor



  3. #3
    SitePoint Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Location
    Saginaw, MI
    Posts
    80
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Thanks Sketch for the suggestion...I've tried something simlar before...it works except when viewing the image at a smaller screen resolution...My watermark is small and I was hoping to keep it centered behind my text...<sighs>...I almost have it with one javascript that I generated...almost...My problem is that I don't know a whole lot about Javascript....

    Here's what I am currently working with:

    <DIV ALIGN=middle VALIGN=middle ID="watermark" STYLE="Position: Absolute; Left:0px; Top:0px; Z-Index:20; visibility:hidden">
    <img src="http://www.cmtonline.com/pics/cmtlitt1.jpg" width="500" height="200" border=0 alt=" " STYLE="filter: alpha(opacity=5); width:500; height:200;"></DIV>

    <SCRIPT language="javascript">
    function makeStatic() {
    if (document.all) {watermark.style.pixelTop = document.body.scrollTop+document.body.clientHeight-400}
    else {eval(document.watermark.top=eval(window.pageYOffset+window.innerHeight-400));}}
    setInterval("makeStatic()",1);

    function position() {
    if (document.all) {
    watermark.style.pixelLeft = document.body.clientWidth-20-698;
    setTimeout('watermark.style.visibility = "visible"', 50)}
    if (document.layers) {
    document.watermark.left += window.innerWidth-25-698;
    setTimeout('document.watermark.visibility = "visible"', 50)}}
    position();
    </SCRIPT>

  4. #4
    SitePoint Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Location
    Saginaw, MI
    Posts
    80
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Ok...I fixed the problem above with the exception that it does look to hot in smaller screen sizes...so I thought a good solution is to use a screen detection/redirection script. Easy enough, right? Well out of all the scripts I've used...none will work...I always have an infinite loop issue...I also noticed this same problem when I was tring to use a browser redirection script...any suggestions? Anyone? The last script I attempted looks like this:

    <script>
    var width = screen.width;
    var res =(((!(640-width))*1)+((!(800-width))*2)+((!(1024-width))*3)+((!(1152-width))*4)+((!(1280-width))*5)+((!(1600-width))*6));
    if(!(res)) res = 1;if (res=='1') {window.location='http://www.cmtonline.com'}
    if (res=='2'} {window.location='http://www.cmtonline.com'}
    if (res=='3') {window.location='http://www.cmtonline.com/index2.html'}
    if (res!='1' && res!='2' && res!='3') {window.location='http://www.cmtonline.com'}</script>

    Thanks in advance!

  5. #5
    Xbox why have you forsaken me? moospot's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Clearwater, FL
    Posts
    3,615
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Isn't the purpose of a watermark to protect your images from being swiped. By using a layer over your image with text on the image, people can still rip off your images. If you are worried about your stuff, then use the image editor to watermark your images. Otherwise, you are just wasting your time.

    Of course, if you just want it there to look cool, then you came up with a brilliant idea.

  6. #6
    SitePoint Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Location
    Saginaw, MI
    Posts
    80
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Actually I am using a watermark just because I think it will look really sharp on my front page...I not really worried about anyone swipping our images...they're not all that fancy anyway and they're copyrighted as well.

  7. #7
    What? Maelstrom's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Whistler BC originally from Guelph Ontario
    Posts
    2,175
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Can you show us a sample of how it turned out? Just curious to see how it worked.
    Maelstrom Personal - Apparition Visions
    Development - PhP || Mysql || Zend || Devshed
    Unix - FreeBSD || FreeBsdForums || Man Pages
    They made me a sitepoint Mentor - Feel free to PM me or Email me and I will see if I can help.

  8. #8
    SitePoint Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Location
    Saginaw, MI
    Posts
    80
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I actually never got it to completely work...it looks great in IE 5.5 using a screen width of 1025...it doesn't look right in any other resolution or browser... I haven't figured out how to fix this yet..But as a temporary solution I wanted to use a screen redirection script...that's the current problem I'm having...whenever I use a redirection script of any sort, I always end up with a infinite loop or in other words, the page will constandly reload itself... soo confused...<big sigh>.

    But if you would like to take a peek at what I was trying to accomplish, just go to this url:

    http://www.cmtonline.com/index2.html

    If you or anyone has any suggestions, please let know. Everyone's advice is greatly appreciated.


Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •