SitePoint Sponsor

User Tag List

Results 1 to 9 of 9
  1. #1
    SitePoint Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    18
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    IE, float or clear problem

    Hi Guys,

    Strange this. <http://www.scunny.co.uk/newfetch/new1.html>

    Why does IE drop the right sided DIV only on the top enclosing DIV?

    Obviously works great in FF & Safari.

  2. #2
    SitePoint Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    18
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Pretty please...

  3. #3
    SitePoint Evangelist
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Posts
    415
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Hi, this may not be the exact answer, but what happens if you remove the width property on the right column? does that help?

  4. #4
    SitePoint Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    18
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Well there's a thing. Works if I remove 10px's from that width.

    This is my first real CCS project but already I'm surprised at the difference width, float, padding, margins etc are between IE and the rest.

    Is there anywhere any of you guys know where I can get just a brief summery of what I should avoid doing and making my it all work correctly in IE.

  5. #5
    SitePoint Wizard silver trophybronze trophy Nadia P's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    NSW Australia
    Posts
    3,564
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Without looking at the page, you need to subtract padding and margins and make that the width so that IE doesn't cause a 'div drop'. You can either use that width or leave as is and use an IE hack or a conditional comment declaring the correct width for IE.

    BIt late here and too tired to look through my book marks, but you could do a google for IE hacks or IE float drop (?) and I'm sure you'll find some pages relating to this....

    Hope this helps.

    Nadia

  6. #6
    SitePoint Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    18
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Thanks guys, ended up being some padding I left in. I've learnt that I should be developing & testing with IE rather than with FF.

  7. #7
    SitePoint Addict ornette's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Tenerife, Canary Isles
    Posts
    175
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by naderby
    I've learnt that I should be developing & testing with IE rather than with FF.
    I think you've learnt wrong in that case. All the wisdom on Sitepoint says develop on FF because it renders the code correctly. Any adjustments to IE are because of the quirks (not quirks mode) of IE. You'll end up with more problems if you don't develop in FF and correct in IE.

  8. #8
    SitePoint Wizard silver trophybronze trophy Nadia P's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    NSW Australia
    Posts
    3,564
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by ornette
    I think you've learnt wrong in that case. All the wisdom on Sitepoint says develop on FF because it renders the code correctly.
    Not just at Sitepoint ;-) develop for FFox and then hack for IE

    Nadia

  9. #9
    SitePoint Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    18
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Gotta say as a relatively newcomer to ccs from a DTP background, really enjoyed the process when I was just developing for FF, but I was so disappointed when it all fell apart in IE.

    Also, is it me or does it all not look as 'nice' in IE?


Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •