SitePoint Sponsor

User Tag List

SitePoint Wizard silver trophy
    Mentioned
    3 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

How do you PLAN your PHP projects?

I am working on a fairly simple script for a client, although it's the largest I've ever done (I'm pretty new at PHP)

The script will call from three tables in a database... one containing listings, one containing categories, and a lookup table.

The script is for a Chamber of Commerce that wants a business directory so people can search the database, and so they can edit it easily.

So, my question is this:::

How do you START developing database projects? How do you first PLAN the project before you start coding?

Any help would be REALLY appreciated!

Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I ususally just plan on paper, drawing a chart of the php scripts and what table and when it corresponds to.

You have to have the right idea in your head before you start coding, so something visual always helps me.

Cheers.
    Dominik
    Webmaster / Owner
    HostRecord.com - Web Hoststing Resource
    HostTalk - Web Hosting Discussion

SitePoint Wizard silver trophy Jeremy W.'s Avatar
    Mentioned
    2 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    :whispers to beley: "visio"... "visio"... "visio"...

Actually, the ability to sketch out is incredibly vital to any development project so do it! After that, I normally do database design and normalization schemes (also vital). After that? Depends on the project
    SVP Marketing, SoCast SRM
    Personal blog: Strategerize
    Twitter: @jeremywright

SitePoint Wizard silver trophy TheOriginalH's Avatar
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Yup yup yup. Paper paper paper. Have "sketches" of all the access/admin/display pages, with reference to how they interconnect (you may find this actually helps you "reduce" the number really needed. Draw out the db schema, both graphically (table relationships etc) and in writing (datatypes etc).