SitePoint Sponsor

User Tag List

Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

Liquid Layout Help

Hello,

I'm working on my first CSS liquid layout (I've been doing this for 3 years, and I've never done one - strange).

What I want to do is have a 2 column web page. The left column (navigation) will be 240px wide, and the right column (content) will be the rest of the page.

However I'm running into a problem. I've set the left column to 240px - great. The right column I've set to 100%, and it's partially going behind the left column. Ideally I'd have width = 100% - 240px, but I don't know how to do that.

A similar problem occurs with the height. I've got the content set to 100% height, and the header is 85px in height (not part of the content div). What I'm ending up with is having to scroll 85px downwards.

Anybody have any ideas/solutions for me?

Thanks,

Pavel

Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    1. Provide an online example, that's far easier to look at and give you some advice on it.
    2. If that's not possible, some code would actually be helpful.
    3. There is a sticky topic, have you looked in there for an example layout? Follow the link of the first post and you'll find that Paul provided more than just one example of a "3 equalizing col layout +header +footer", maybe one of them solves your problem.
    Dan G
    Marketing Strategist & Consultant

#titanic {float:none} silver trophy
    Mentioned
    211 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by Pavel_Nedved
    Hello,

I'm working on my first CSS liquid layout (I've been doing this for 3 years, and I've never done one - strange).

What I want to do is have a 2 column web page. The left column (navigation) will be 240px wide, and the right column (content) will be the rest of the page.