SitePoint Sponsor

User Tag List

Results 1 to 22 of 22
  1. #1
    Former Staff Member silver trophy Adam P.'s Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Location
    San Francisco
    Posts
    3,288
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    The MOST Annoying Thing!

    Hi all...please help!

    When I first open IE, it opens a maximized window. But from then on, whether I open another window or click a link which opens a new window, the new window is never maximized. I can resize it, but I just want the new windows to open up already maximized. It is such a pain in my but to hit the 'maximize' button every single time (which is quite often).

    So, does anyone know a procedure to make new IE windows open up maximized?
    SPF Mentor/Advisor 2001-2003
    SPF Designer of the Year 2002
    SPF Graphic Designer of the Year 2003
    AdamPolselli.com

  2. #2
    Making a better wheel silver trophy DR_LaRRY_PEpPeR's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Location
    Missouri
    Posts
    3,428
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I HEAR YOU!!! i HATE that! there is absolutely no way i know of to make those new windows open maximized. why can't MS have a simple thing where IE remembers that you want the windows maximized?!?!?!

    can you tell i hate it too? BTW, i don't click the "Maximize" button -- it's too small to click quickly. i just double click the title bar.
    - Matt ** Ignore old signature for now... **
    Dr.BB - Highly optimized to be 2-3x faster than the "Big 3."
    "Do not enclose numeric values in quotes -- that is very non-standard and will only work on MySQL." - MattR

  3. #3
    + platinum's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Location
    Adelaide, Australia
    Posts
    6,441
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Do you want some real techey advice from the
    (drum roll, please) Microsoft Knowledge Base

    wow check out the soulution:
    http://support.microsoft.com/support...gn_SRCH&SPR=IE

  4. #4
    Making a better wheel silver trophy DR_LaRRY_PEpPeR's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Location
    Missouri
    Posts
    3,428
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    LMAO *shakes head*

  5. #5
    + platinum's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Location
    Adelaide, Australia
    Posts
    6,441
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Gee, you can see why you need an MSCE certificate to solve some of these advanced problems

  6. #6
    Net Senior Citizen tommatthews's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Location
    Sydney Australia
    Posts
    869
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Weird! I was just thinking about the same thing!!
    So it looks like you just have to live with it...


    affordable website design

    :: sydney australia ::

  7. #7
    Skills to Pay the Bills Sparkie's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 1999
    Location
    A cave with 47 computers and an internet feed
    Posts
    3,559
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Originally posted by platinum
    Do you want some real techey advice from the
    (drum roll, please) Microsoft Knowledge Base

    wow check out the soulution:
    http://support.microsoft.com/support...gn_SRCH&SPR=IE
    That will cost you $2,953.38. Thank you for choosing Microsoft.

  8. #8
    Former Staff Member silver trophy Adam P.'s Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Location
    San Francisco
    Posts
    3,288
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Shucks! Ah well, thanks for your advice DrLarry. That's much easier than trying to click the tiny button.
    SPF Mentor/Advisor 2001-2003
    SPF Designer of the Year 2002
    SPF Graphic Designer of the Year 2003
    AdamPolselli.com

  9. #9
    epsilon transition cupid's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Location
    Kent, Ohio
    Posts
    367
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Originally posted by platinum
    Do you want some real techey advice from the
    (drum roll, please) Microsoft Knowledge Base

    wow check out the soulution:
    http://support.microsoft.com/support...gn_SRCH&SPR=IE
    lol! that's hilarious!

  10. #10
    Xbox why have you forsaken me? moospot's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Clearwater, FL
    Posts
    3,615
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    RESOLUTION
    To work around this problem, click Maximize after you start Internet Explorer.
    too funny

  11. #11
    SitePoint Wizard creole's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2000
    Location
    Nashvegas Baby!
    Posts
    7,845
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    An extremely simple solution would be to use keyboard shortcuts.

    By pressing ALT > SPACE > X you can quickly maximize any window. Once you get the hang of it you can pres them in rapid succession and have a maximized window within about 1.5 seconds.

    To "restore" the window, simply press ALT > SPACE > R.
    Adobe Certified Coldfusion MX 7 Developer
    Adobe Certified Advanced Coldfusion MX Developer
    My Blog (new) | My Family | My Freelance | My Recipes

  12. #12
    Former Staff Member silver trophy Adam P.'s Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Location
    San Francisco
    Posts
    3,288
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Thanks creole, but I'd rather double-click the title bar.
    SPF Mentor/Advisor 2001-2003
    SPF Designer of the Year 2002
    SPF Graphic Designer of the Year 2003
    AdamPolselli.com

  13. #13
    Digital Warrior Renegade's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2000
    Location
    Portland, OR
    Posts
    480
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Originally posted by platinum
    Gee, you can see why you need an MSCE certificate to solve some of these advanced problems
    Hey now watch it :P

    I am an MCSE, but my knowledge extends far and beyond what any 2 week paper MCSE class will teach you.

    I wish MS had a cert for more advanced ppl like me, so we wouldn't get put in the same boat with the paper MCSE's :/

    Crazy solution though. Heh. I have had that happen once or twice. I usually just open and close open a close a couple times, and it usually takes affect.
    --There's my 1.5 cents, now where is my change!?!?

  14. #14
    We like music. weirdbeardmt's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2001
    Location
    Channel Islands Girth: Footlong
    Posts
    5,882
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Originally posted by creole
    An extremely simple solution would be to use keyboard shortcuts.

    By pressing ALT > SPACE > X you can quickly maximize any window. Once you get the hang of it you can pres them in rapid succession and have a maximized window within about 1.5 seconds.

    To "restore" the window, simply press ALT > SPACE > R.
    Or just use Windows Key + Up Arrow (although this might be a Winkey thing [www.copernic.com/winkey]).

    Don't forget Windows key + M to minimise all windows.
    I swear to drunk I'm not God.
    Matt's debating is not a crime
    Hint: Don't buy a stupid dwarf Clicky

  15. #15
    Pixels Matter! Jimknee's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Location
    Island Paradise :D
    Posts
    835
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Yep, another irritating problem that wastes time. I have configured my mouse wheel so that when I click it the window maximizes! That's the laziest workaround I've found so far. (You might already be using the wheel for another function, of course.)

  16. #16
    Former Staff Member silver trophy Adam P.'s Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Location
    San Francisco
    Posts
    3,288
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Good idea Jim! I just did it...works like a charm
    SPF Mentor/Advisor 2001-2003
    SPF Designer of the Year 2002
    SPF Graphic Designer of the Year 2003
    AdamPolselli.com

  17. #17
    Sports Publisher mjames's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2000
    Location
    Charlotte, NC
    Posts
    5,891
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I don't provide any money-back guarantees for this method...

    Try holding Shift and right-clicking on a link to open in a new window and let go of the button. Then, hold Shift again and resize the window to the size you want. Lastly, close all IE windows and when you restart it, the next time you open links in new windows, it will hopefully remember the last time. Sometimes works for me. Worth a try.

  18. #18
    + platinum's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Location
    Adelaide, Australia
    Posts
    6,441
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Originally posted by Renegade


    Hey now watch it :P

    I am an MCSE, but my knowledge extends far and beyond what any 2 week paper MCSE class will teach you.

    I wish MS had a cert for more advanced ppl like me, so we wouldn't get put in the same boat with the paper MCSE's :/

    Crazy solution though. Heh. I have had that happen once or twice. I usually just open and close open a close a couple times, and it usually takes affect.
    Yeah, i know, i know Those little flashey microsoft credit cards are great to show off arn't they?

    I don't browse at fullscreen BTW, I have my res. at 1024 x 768, and i use a window sort of inbetween that and 800x600 size to browse in, i like it that way

  19. #19
    SitePoint Enthusiast ResearchTrack's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    59
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Originally posted by platinum


    ....
    1024 x 768, and i use a window sort of inbetween that and 800x600 size to browse in, i like it that way
    Well, the solution ALT-F4 - and the day is yours

  20. #20
    SitePoint Wizard silver trophy redemption's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2001
    Location
    Singapore
    Posts
    5,269
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Originally posted by webcat111

    Well, the solution ALT-F4 - and the day is yours
    i dun get it webcat... i'm supposing sarcasm here but i still dun get it

  21. #21
    + platinum's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Location
    Adelaide, Australia
    Posts
    6,441
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Originally posted by webcat111


    Well, the solution ALT-F4 - and the day is yours
    awwww, I can't find the negative F4 key?

    Do what you said a few times and press enter okay?

  22. #22
    Making a better wheel silver trophy DR_LaRRY_PEpPeR's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Location
    Missouri
    Posts
    3,428
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Originally posted by mjames
    Try holding Shift and right-clicking on a link to open in a new window and let go of the button. Then, hold Shift again and resize the window to the size you want. Lastly, close all IE windows and when you restart it, the next time you open links in new windows, it will hopefully remember the last time. Sometimes works for me. Worth a try.
    ahh, but that's not actually MAXIMIZED! it may be sized as big as it can go, but i want it "Maximized."
    - Matt ** Ignore old signature for now... **
    Dr.BB - Highly optimized to be 2-3x faster than the "Big 3."
    "Do not enclose numeric values in quotes -- that is very non-standard and will only work on MySQL." - MattR


Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •