SitePoint Sponsor

User Tag List

Results 1 to 8 of 8

Hybrid View

  1. #1
    SitePoint Zealot mbm's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Posts
    147
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    FIREFOX A:HOVER background image

    Hi,

    Is it possible and how to change the background image on mouse hover over text link, using only CSS and to work in Firefox?

    We have done it with some partial success for IE and Opera, but never succeed to do it for Firefox.

    However, the question is how to do it in order to work in Firefox too?

  2. #2
    [Biped] LJK's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    In My Jammies
    Posts
    761
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Hi -
    That should be no problem at all - maybe post
    the code you've used so we can spot why it's
    not wkg. for f-fox.

    El
    F-Fox 2.0 :: WIN :: el design :: US

  3. #3
    SitePoint Addict
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    London
    Posts
    248
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Not aware of any particular issue with Firebox and hover/background images.

    My preferred approach is to use a single image file - an image file that includes both the 'normal' and 'hover' images - and change the background position only.

  4. #4
    SitePoint Zealot mbm's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Posts
    147
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Hi again,

    We have found the problem.
    It was in our code, in the sequence: link, visited, hover, active, I think.

    After your replys, we created simple example to check it and found no problem.

  5. #5
    SitePoint Addict
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    London
    Posts
    248
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Ah yes, the old LoVe HAte problem

  6. #6
    SitePoint Zealot mbm's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Posts
    147
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    In addition,

    Firefox does not like digits in the style name.

  7. #7
    SitePoint Wizard bronze trophy Tyssen's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Brisbane, QLD
    Posts
    4,067
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by mbm
    Firefox does not like digits in the style name.
    If you had a digit at the start of your class or ID name, it would be invalid CSS/HTML anyway.

  8. #8
    SitePoint Zealot mbm's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Posts
    147
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Ah mistake - it does not like the object ID to be digits only. For example we had ID="3".

    Sorry for the confusion.


Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •