SitePoint Sponsor

User Tag List

SitePoint Evangelist
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

suggestions for promoting my ecard site?

Hi,

I've been running this ecard site since Jan 2000 and get a steadyish 500-900 hits a day at the moment.

The ecard market, like pretty much all others is pretty much saturated and there are thousands of sites offering the same service.

However - I feel like my site is different (ha! don't we all?!) from the bulk of ecard sites, in that the designs are pretty off-beat and not too cheesy / schmaltzy.

Trouble is I feel like after years of tweaking around with things like CSS / keyword placement / meta tags / link exchanges I have pretty much reached a plateau and apart from busy times like Xmas and Valentines, the site just ticks along.

While this is okay, I'd like to find a way to get more traffic (again: Ha! wouldn't we all?!) without having to pay for advertising.

I get most of my traffic from Google search referrals. When I first started I would never have imagined I could have got to 7th out of 82 million on Google for "ecards" - but despite that, such a broad search returns few hits.

I am tantalisingly close to getting in the top 10 on google for free ecards (11th at the time of writing this)...

So anyway, I'm not sure how I could:

a. Move up the "free ecards" search results list
    b. get additional traffic from other means

Any help or advice most gratefully received.

Thanks

Jim

SitePoint Enthusiast
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Have you submitted your site to all of the freebie sites out there? Getting listed on thefreesite, should push your numbers up a bit initially - it gave me a pretty decent boost for a couple of weeks when I got listed on their newest freebies page. I have found that I still get a decent amount of daily traffic from thefreesite when people use the freebie search on their site and bring up my listing.

Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged