SitePoint Sponsor

User Tag List

Results 1 to 24 of 24

Thread: Text Editor

  1. #1
    SitePoint Zealot
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    North America
    Posts
    173
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Text Editor

    Hey, I have been learning ruby and its getting really frustrating going back to the cmd window to exicute files, is there a text editor that I can use which can easily compile the program?

  2. #2
    SitePoint Guru silver trophy Luke Redpath's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    London
    Posts
    794
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    If you're on a Mac, Textmate is your best bet.

  3. #3
    SitePoint Zealot
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    North America
    Posts
    173
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I need either Windows or Linux

  4. #4
    SitePoint Zealot
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Posts
    124
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Ruby is an interpreted language, there is no compiling involved (Actually, Ruby can be "compiled" with RubyScript2Exe. I'm just sweatje proofing my response. :P) If you used the "One-Click Ruby Installer" you've got FreeRIDE and SciTE installed, both of which will execute your script if you press F5.

  5. #5
    SitePoint Zealot
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    vta,ca,usa
    Posts
    180
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Well, Win options, I prefer UltraEdit or Editplus, the latter having some nice options but relatively simple user interface. Both will give you the option of implementing a 'tool' that can be configured to run a command such as 'ruby $filename' where $filename is the current file your working on.

    Linux/BSD I always use VIM in the shell and just :! everything.

  6. #6

  7. #7
    SitePoint Zealot
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    North America
    Posts
    173
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by IAIHMB
    Ruby is an interpreted language, there is no compiling involved (Actually, Ruby can be "compiled" with RubyScript2Exe. I'm just sweatje proofing my response. :P) If you used the "One-Click Ruby Installer" you've got FreeRIDE and SciTE installed, both of which will execute your script if you press F5.
    Thanks for the tip thats exactly what I was looking for. I didnt know I could do that so I was using dos to execute the files, because thats how many tutorials show it

  8. #8
    SitePoint Zealot
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    North America
    Posts
    173
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    How would I execute a file in radrails

  9. #9
    SitePoint Guru
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Posts
    986
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    RadRails is for Rails ;-).

    Use RDT instead if you want to use an eclipse based IDE.

  10. #10
    SitePoint Zealot
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    North America
    Posts
    173
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    im sorta confused on the ruby and rails. I know a good chunck of ruby, varaibles array and etc. But what is rails, what can I make with rails. What is eclipse based IDE?

  11. #11
    SitePoint Guru
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Posts
    986
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Rails is a web application framework for Ruby. Ruby is a programming language like PHP. Rails is written in Ruby, and you can use it to write web applications using Ruby. Rails manages database connections, helps you with html generation, and much more.

    IDE = integrated development environment, a program that helps you writing code and testing it. It's like a code editor, but has many other features.

    An eclipse based IDE is an IDE that's built on top of eclipse. Eclipse is a general IDE, and you can create language or framework specific IDE's on top of it. RadRails is an IDE for Rails, and RDT (ruby development tools) is for Ruby. Because Rails is built with Ruby, you can use RDT to develop Rails applications, but RadRails provides more Rails-specific tools.

  12. #12
    throw me a bone ... now bonefry's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Romania
    Posts
    848
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    VIM is the best editor, period.
    It beats the crap out of TextMate if you learn how to configure it.

    And RadRails and RDT are only good for pussies that are afraid of using a real programmer's editor

    Besides VIM, Emacs is a very good option, but it is not for the faint-hearted, because in order to configure it and extend it you'll have to learn eLISP (which is not a bad ideea, but it does have a steep learning curve).

    Textmate is a very good IDE, but I am kind of frustrated that it is:
    1) comercial
    2) not available on other platforms, other than Mac OS.

    And no, I won't buy a Mac just to use a freakin` text editor.

  13. #13
    SitePoint Addict jpease's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    In the network.
    Posts
    217
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    My iMac was in the shop for a couple weeks and I ended up working on WinXP for those weeks. I had to find something to replace my usual Textmate, and I would now recommend jEdit.

    There is a rails package of abbreviations for jEdit that work like snippets in Textmate.

    It has a semi-functional console utility plug-in.

    It is cross-OS and free.

    For the superficial details, it can be setup to look just like the black backgrounded textmate rails screencasts.

  14. #14
    SitePoint Zealot
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    North America
    Posts
    173
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    how do I execute a file in jedit

  15. #15
    SitePoint Addict jpease's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    In the network.
    Posts
    217
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by thebillionaire
    how do I execute a file in jedit
    A quick googling revealed this hint: "Misc/Run Script"

    As I have my iMac back now, and am once again on TextMate, can't give you too much other info on jEdit since I don't have it installed on this box. But from my 30 second search it appears that you shouldn't have a problem executing a file from with jEdit.

  16. #16
    SitePoint Zealot
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    North America
    Posts
    173
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    there is no misc/eun script button

  17. #17
    SitePoint Zealot
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    North America
    Posts
    173
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    any help here, how do I execute a file in jedit

  18. #18
    SitePoint Addict jpease's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    In the network.
    Posts
    217
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by thebillionaire
    any help here, how do I execute a file in jedit
    No offense intended, but have you tried checking:

    • Google
    • jEdit Docs
    • jEdit Website / Forums


    Might yield better and faster results than waiting for someone else. If you have already done those things - like I said, no offense intended.

    I'd tell you if I knew, but I don't. So I'd have to do one of the above to find the answer too.

  19. #19
    SitePoint Addict alfie.romeo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    239
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    i was trying to upload a perl cgi script the other weeks after modifying with word pad in windows. it didn't work. i had no idea some text editors created problems. am i right in thinking this now and that i should get something else?

    thanks

  20. #20
    SitePoint Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Posts
    1
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by thebillionaire
    there is no misc/eun script button
    It's Macros > Misc > Run Script.


    There are some useful plug-ins and configurations for jEdit to simulate TextMate. I've blogged about it here along with some links to other posts I've found helpful in setting it up for Ruby and Rails.

  21. #21
    Resident Java Hater
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    Gerodieville Central, UK
    Posts
    446
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I'm a Notepad2 (with Ruby support), or Ultra Edit user under Windows. If you dislike switching, why not look at getting an old monitor for a second screen, then you can put your browser / command stuff on that screen and put your code on another.

    You shouldn't need to invoke anything from your editor, if you run Rails in development mode you should see the updates on the next page refesh
    http://virtualfunction.net - Rails Web Development
    http://squaremove.co.uk - Rails powered Property Listings

  22. #22
    SitePoint Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Posts
    0
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by thebillionaire
    im sorta confused on the ruby and rails. I know a good chunck of ruby, varaibles array and etc. But what is rails, what can I make with rails. What is eclipse based IDE?
    Ruby on Rails is the big bad monster that could take the net by storm.

    Most people who wanted dynamic websites used PHP or ASP, but the simplicity of RoR is the main seller in this.

    If you are already a Ruby programmer, you have a massive advantage and should jump at the chance of extending that knowledge to RoR.

    PHP developers are concentrating on AJAX, I for one ain't.

  23. #23
    ☆★☆★ silver trophy vgarcia's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    in transition
    Posts
    21,235
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by MiiJaySung
    You shouldn't need to invoke anything from your editor, if you run Rails in development mode you should see the updates on the next page refesh
    I don't know, script/console is kinda useful and getting to it from an editor is too

  24. #24
    SitePoint Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Posts
    3
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I think the best editor for rails in windows platform is RadRails.

    it is so powerful. I always use it to create my projects.

    I also have tried Jedit but I prefer RadRails.


Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •