SitePoint Sponsor

User Tag List

Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1
    SitePoint Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Location
    Amsterdam
    Posts
    10
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Strange POST problem

    I want to use a PHP form. But I am getting an error, saying I am not allowed to use POST in this directory. How do allow a certain directory to use POST?

    PHP4
    FreeBSD 4.2
    Webmin

    Leo
    Leo

  2. #2
    SitePoint Guru
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Karachi, Pakistan
    Posts
    913
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Are you running a webserver on your local computer or are you using a host?
    Also is it possible for you to paste in the code? Also what is the Form's action tag?

    I mean can you please post in your form html code too as that might help a bit too


    -Omair
    36Host.com - $36/year web hosting [affiliates earn 30%]
    * Affordable Small Business Web Hosting since 2003! *
    "500mb space, 10gb bandwith, 50 pop/ftp accounts, php,
    mysql, pre-installed php scripts, 24/7 support & more...."



  3. #3
    Xbox why have you forsaken me? moospot's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Clearwater, FL
    Posts
    3,615
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    This usually means that something in the permissions needs to be altered. Like Omair said, are you running your site locally or is it hosted elsewhere?

    Also, which webserver are you running and which Operating System are you using?

  4. #4
    SitePoint Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Location
    Amsterdam
    Posts
    10
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    It is a hosted dedicated server.
    FreeBSD 4.2
    Apache 1.3.20

    <FORM ACTION="formproc.php" METHOD="POST" ENCTYPE="multipart/form-data">

    I hope this will help.
    Leo

  5. #5
    Xbox why have you forsaken me? moospot's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Clearwater, FL
    Posts
    3,615
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I can't help you because I am not familiar with BSD or Apache. Hopefully, someone else will be able to help you out.

    That being said, it still sounds like the permissions are not set up correctly. You should check with the provider and ask them about it.

  6. #6
    Prolific Blogger silver trophy Technosailor's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Location
    Before These Crowded Streets
    Posts
    9,446
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    are your folders and files set to write permissions? That's where I'd check first...assuming you're in Windows. If you're on a Linux box CHMOD the folder/file to 755.

    Incidentally, this would be better posted in Server-side scripting.

    Sketch
    Aaron Brazell
    Technosailor



  7. #7
    SitePoint Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Location
    Amsterdam
    Posts
    10
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    The permissions aren't the problem. I have tried this allready.
    Leo


Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •