SitePoint Sponsor

User Tag List

Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: NavBar help!!

  1. #1
    SitePoint Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Posts
    7
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    NavBar help!!

    Ok now that i have the code can someone help me out with the code that i need to add to have it display my button images and have the text on top of them? I also need the code that will indicate font, font size, font color etc. I'm sorry for being a pain I just really want to learn this stuff. Below is the code that I have. I just need to know the above codes and where to putthem. Thanks in advance for all the help

    <?php
    $nav = '<table>';
    // add the line below for any additional links you want
    $nav .= '<tr><td>Nav Item 1</td></tr>';
    // like this:
    $nav .= '<tr><td>Nav Item 2</td></tr>';
    $nav .= '</table>';
    echo $nav;
    ?>

  2. #2
    Non-Member Egor's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Melbourne, Australia
    Posts
    7,305
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)
    I don't undestand why you're using PHP there. What's the point?

    Oh, the code doesn't really tell us much about how you want it to look. Perhaps you could upload and link to an image or something?

  3. #3
    SitePoint Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Posts
    7
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    The reason I'm using PHP is so that I can have my left nav bar sitewide to make updates much easier.

  4. #4
    SitePoint Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Posts
    7
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Also I don't want to come accross as a spammer but I want the nav bar to look exactly the same as the one on my site. I just want the code to be a php file. I did mine with layers and every time I need to update the links or anything I have to edit 80 pages lol!!

    Joey

  5. #5
    doing my best to help c2uk's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    Cardiff
    Posts
    1,832
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    All you need to do is to write html code in one file, e.g.

    Code:
    <ul>
        <li>my first nav item</li>
        <li>my second nav tiem</li>
    </ul>
    or your actual code from your current page and then include this in each page via the include function.

    Edit: regarding font, fontsize, etc. you might want to learn css: www.htmldog.com
    Dan G
    Marketing Strategist & Consultant

  6. #6
    SitePoint Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Posts
    7
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    No I understand the basic code. My problem is that I want my button image to display and then the text to lay over it. I need the code to add this in. I also need the code to designate a font, font size and font color.

  7. #7
    doing my best to help c2uk's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    Cardiff
    Posts
    1,832
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I just looked at your website, and to be honest, it is a mess. Therefore my advice:

    All you need to do is create a new html page, put in the code for your current navbar and then:
    Code:
    <?php include("navbar.html"); ?>
    at the place of your current navbar. Next time you need to change something, you only have to change 1 file.

    And again, learn some CSS in order to be able to change font-size and style and everything else, it's easy to learn, just follow the link provided above.

    That's all the help I can give.
    Dan G
    Marketing Strategist & Consultant


Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •