SitePoint Sponsor

User Tag List

SitePoint Evangelist
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

Where am I going wrong?

Hello there. I setup my web design company about 8 months ago and I'm getting to a point where I'm not sure where to go next...

I know PHP, MySQL, XHTML and CSS. All the sites I've created have their own CMS and they are all cross browser compatible. The most I've ever got for one of my web sites is 520. And that took me ages to make and deploy.

But to me, I really feel that I'm undervaluing my work alot - and I'm getting to a point where I'm not sure what to do. I'm self-taught through using books, and my design skills aren't that great - but I am really proud of the coding I do. I really feel it's of high quality. But I hear all the time that people who know these skills are getting paid loads (20, 30, 100 + an hour). I don't see how I can achieve these rates?

I know that I should approach bigger corporations, but are they gonna be interested in a young self-taught web developer? All the corporations want Microsoft based solutions and myself (out of choice) don't know these technologies.

Could anyone give me any guidance in where I can go next with my skills? I'm tired of doing 200-300 web sites for 'man and his van' companies.

Any help at all would be useful, because I really am thinking of just packing it all in!
    Cheers. James

SitePoint Member
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    You must NETWORK. Example, I know there is a hospital in my area. Get the directory and start cold calling some of the doctors to see if thye would like a website setup for them, hell, have a few templates available. things like that iwll get you started, then word-of-mouth will continue. I just got a network consulting job for about 2k. it easy work because im highly recommended. now i dont get these all the time, but that + my normal job = lots of $$$

Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)