SitePoint Sponsor

User Tag List

Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

Arrow Need help getting to grips with php...

I've been checking out some of the posts on here for answers, but I feel my problem would be better helped with some direct advice and suggestions realting to my problem.
    My website, http://www.stadium-arcadium.com is built using html. I've added a phpbb forum. From editing the phpbb files i've seen just how beneficial php will be to me. I've had no real experience with php before.

Firstly, the navigation on the left column of my site needs to be updated for each page, which is time consuming. I know I could probably use frames but I would like to make it a global file like i've seen with the phpbb files. If I could make one file for the navigation that works on all pages then thats going to make my life a hell of a lot easier. I was also wondering just how easy it will be to transfer my current pages to php?

If possible i'd just like some direction, some suggestions of what php tools to use, example scripts and tutorials etc to get me started.

Thanks for your time. Always appreciated.

SitePoint Member
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    You've made a good choice with PHP - it's a very flexible and easy-to-learn web language!

From what I can see, you want to have the navigation in one file which is referenced from all the other ones, so that you can update it whenever you want with the changes being reflected on all your pages immediately. If that's what you want, then it's actually very easy.

Just make a new file which contains only the navigation for the site, then in each of your pages where you want it to be shown, just include the following code:

PHP Code:
    <?php include_once 'http://www.example.com/path/to/navigation.php'?>