SitePoint Sponsor

User Tag List

Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: newbie

  1. #1
    Free me php klassicd's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2001
    Location
    San Diego
    Posts
    509
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    newbie

    <link rel='stylesheet' href='style.css' type='text/css'>

    Are you aloud to do that? With ' instead of ".

  2. #2
    SitePoint Wizard silver trophy redemption's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2001
    Location
    Singapore
    Posts
    5,269
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    i think you can but it's standards-conforming to use double quotes " instead

  3. #3
    Free me php klassicd's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2001
    Location
    San Diego
    Posts
    509
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    thanks

    just wondering

  4. #4
    Making a better wheel silver trophy DR_LaRRY_PEpPeR's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Location
    Missouri
    Posts
    3,428
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Re: newbie

    Originally posted by klassicd
    Are you aloud to do that?
    yeah, as long as you don't say it aloud.

    seriously though, ONLY use double quotes on ALL attribute values if you want to be correct.
    - Matt ** Ignore old signature for now... **
    Dr.BB - Highly optimized to be 2-3x faster than the "Big 3."
    "Do not enclose numeric values in quotes -- that is very non-standard and will only work on MySQL." - MattR

  5. #5
    Free me php klassicd's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2001
    Location
    San Diego
    Posts
    509
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    well.........

    The problem is im writing a php script to change different style sheets according to your web browser but i cant seem to get it to work with double quotes. In php your suppose to be able to make a backslash before your html quotes but it doesnt seem to work for me. DOnt know why. Thats why i need to use single quotes because php doesnt reconize them and there is no need for a backslash.

  6. #6
    Making a better wheel silver trophy DR_LaRRY_PEpPeR's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Location
    Missouri
    Posts
    3,428
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    post that part of the code. something's not right. you should be able to use double quotes just fine.

  7. #7
    SitePoint Zealot
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Location
    Southampton, UK
    Posts
    121
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    i only use single quotes when i've got code inside of javascript


Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •