SitePoint Sponsor

User Tag List

Results 1 to 10 of 10
  1. #1
    SitePoint Member
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Posts
    1
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Firefox and IE displays page differently

    Can someone please check out this page with IE and Firefox. www.3dwebbooks.com In IE it looks fine, but in Firefox the midsection is pushed down below the menu on the left side. Does anyone know what causes this. This is driving me nuts. Love CSS driven websites but sometimes..grrrr.

    Tom

  2. #2
    SitePoint Member jsoul4life's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Posts
    4
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Thumbs up Re: Firefox vs. IE

    In my opinion, i prefer to use firefox over IE but thats only because IE is made by Microsoft. Lol . The IE/Firefox problem that you are having occurs due to the way that the webpage browser encrpts the CSS code. For example, i could have a webpage made in CSS which works perfectly in Firefox and it would work like crap in IE. In order to fix such layout problem, what developers use different CSS code with special symbols inco-operated with the CSS file in order to fix the problem.
    HERE IS AN EXAMPLE:
    html>body #coolmenu a{ /*Non IE rule*/
    width: auto;
    #$%P#H$P^_^G#U@R#U#$%

  3. #3
    CSS & JS/DOM Adept bronze trophy
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    5,482
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Part of the problem on that is the clear:both on #advert-right. They coded for IE/Win instead of coding for more standards compliant browsers like Firefox, Opera, and Safari.

    IE7 supports the ">" combinator, so it will apply rules like that.
    We miss you, Dan Schulz.
    Learn CSS. | X/HTML Validator | CSS validator
    Dynamic Site Solutions
    Code for Firefox, Chrome, Safari, & Opera, then add fixes for IE, not vice versa.

  4. #4
    SitePoint Member
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Posts
    1
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Thanks for the replies. So is there something I can do to fix this? This is my first page using no tables so I'm not very good at this. Any help is appreciated. Should I change all the floats to fixed or absolute positions?

    tom

  5. #5
    SitePoint Wizard drhowarddrfine's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Posts
    3,438
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Don't have time to look at the code but, no, just make your code work in Firefox so you know your code is correct. Then we can help you adjust for old, buggy non-compliant IE.

  6. #6
    SitePoint Member
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Posts
    1
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    This is driving me crazy. Tried everything to make it look ok in Firefox but can't do it unless I make everything absolute.

    Any suggestions?

    tom

  7. #7
    SitePoint Wizard bronze trophy Tyssen's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Brisbane, QLD
    Posts
    4,067
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Part of your problem is that #navBar and #advert-right should be in the same containing element and that element should be floated rather than applying the style to each bit individually.

  8. #8
    SitePoint Wizard drhowarddrfine's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Posts
    3,438
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    To start with, remove the clears from nav and advert-right divs. By clearing, you are saying you don't want any other floats sitting next to them. This is why your advert is not sitting where it should.

  9. #9
    SitePoint Member
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Posts
    1
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    dr: I did remove the clears and that really messed up the page. The content element moved down and the advert_right moved up next to the advert div Man.. this designing without tables is fun.

    Tyssen: how to I best put them in the same element? Can I wrap them in a new div tag?

    I had hoped I could correct this in the style sheet so I did not have to edit every page...guess that's not possible.

    tom

  10. #10
    SitePoint Wizard bronze trophy Tyssen's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Brisbane, QLD
    Posts
    4,067
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by Camelot
    Tyssen: how to I best put them in the same element? Can I wrap them in a new div tag?
    You've got a three column layout so you should have three main content containers - everything else should go inside one of those.


Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •