SitePoint Sponsor

User Tag List

Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    SitePoint Addict ikabon's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Philippines
    Posts
    231
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    problems with home network setup

    i got a bit of problem with my home network setup.
    the internet access is fine. it work fine. but viewing other shared folders from the other computers is the problem?

    So anyone here have setup a home nework setup?

  2. #2
    SitePoint Wizard silver trophy rushiku's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    A van down by the river
    Posts
    2,056
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)
    Many of us have home networks, but we're going to need more to go on if you want us to help.

    What operating system do the computers use? Which version?
    How are they networked?
    Are you using a router? What type of router?
    If using Windows, have you run the Setup a Home Network Wizard?
    What IPs are the computers on?

  3. #3
    SitePoint Addict ikabon's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Philippines
    Posts
    231
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    i see.
    we uses win 2000 and XP pro sp2
    we have a router(Dlink)
    currently configured as DHCP, PPPoE ..

  4. #4
    SitePoint Wizard silver trophy rushiku's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    A van down by the river
    Posts
    2,056
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)
    Ok, that's a nice start.

    What are the computer's IPs on the network? (open a command prompt window and type ipconfig to find the IP)
    Are the computer's in the same workgroup? (goto Start>Control Panel>Network Connections>Advanced>Network Identification to find the workgroup)

    Let's say computer A is at 192.168.1.1 and computer B is at 192.168.1.2, if you open a command prompt window on computer A and type 'ping 192.168.1.2', what does the output say?

  5. #5
    SitePoint Addict ikabon's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Philippines
    Posts
    231
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    yes, computers and in the same workgroup..
    i can ping any computers that are attached to LAN.
    computers have the same gateways..
    ping comp1 to comp2 to comp2 comp3.

    is there something wrong with the way i configured the router?

  6. #6
    SitePoint Wizard silver trophy rushiku's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    A van down by the river
    Posts
    2,056
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by ikabon
    is there something wrong with the way i configured the router?
    It's hard to say given that you won't give us the information I asked for...

    If the IPs are 192.168.x.x, then the computers are getting an IP from the router and I would guess that the sharing on the folders in question isn't setup correctly

    If the IPs are 169.254.x.x, then computers are not getting an IP from the router, but are instead using the default "windows can't get an IP from a DHCP server" IP. With the right subnet mask, this can still work. It would be better to figure out why the computers aren't getting an IP though.


Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •