SitePoint Sponsor

User Tag List

SitePoint Zealot
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

Advice On Hiring A Coder

Guys & Girls (i think there are a few on here! lol)

I've designed a site in photoshop but just dont have the time to code it. I've always done everything myself, so i'm new to hiring somelse to do the dirty work. I have a few queries i think some1 might be able to answer / advise me on:

1) How should i go about find the most suitable person?

2) I have a clear set of requirements, but have no idea how much it should cost to code.

3) How can i be sure to get all source code & the project fully completed?

4) When should i pay them? on completition? or what?

cheers for all the comments

SitePoint Wizard bronze trophy
    Mentioned
    10 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

Check local companies - search for 'your city web designers' or similar. Yellow Pages etc. Look at their portfolio, case studies, get references etc. You could try auction sites if you're feel like a real gamble.

2) I have a clear set of requirements, but have no idea how much it should cost to code.

Talk to several companies to get a better idea of the costs. Remember, local companies will charge more than a guy off Rentacoder in India, but they offer other advantages (local so can sort out problems face-to-face, any contract you sign is more easily enforceable, etc)

Have the contract state you get all rights upon full payment.

Most developers take a deposit (33-50%) with the rest upon completion. Some take monthly payments, and some take full payment in advance. I hand nothing over until I get balancing payment.

Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I have recently used SPs marketplace to hire a coder, and couldn't have been happier with them, they were professional, easy to get on with and great customer service.

If you want PM me for their email.