SitePoint Sponsor

User Tag List

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 25 of 26
  1. #1
    SitePoint Zealot c-pr0mpt's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Location
    Michigan
    Posts
    171
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    XP is annoying me

    I just upgraded to XP from ME. Everything is all fine and dandy, but before installing this I had Office XP installed. The version with Frontpage. Well, now that I upgraded windos everytime I click outlook express it prompts to install Office XP....

    But its already installed. And I click cancel twice and outlook does open. Why is it doing this?? I even tried going through it and reinstall for its sake, and it wouldn't let me. It tells me to find a certain file on the install disk and when I do it says its not valid. lol Weird stuff.

    Any ideas? Both are legal copies not warez so I cannot see any issues related to that.
    ravio.com
    Email: corey@ravio.com

  2. #2
    SitePoint Guru SWD's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Location
    heaven
    Posts
    721
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    me 2

    that's nothing! I upgraded from Win98 to WindowsXP and you know? My modem company doesn't have the drivers for the Windows XP so Im without internet in the other pc where I do all my design and my CD-R is not working also because I need the new version of the recorder.. What about that?
    Our Sites: Arcade Muffin | Viefex

  3. #3
    What's HTML?
    Join Date
    May 2001
    Location
    San Diego, CA
    Posts
    1,701
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Aren't drivers upwards compatible?
    Ryan Kuhle - A Proud Advisor - Got Questions? Just Ask!
    Get your website started for less than $20! Click Here

  4. #4
    will code HTML for food Michel V's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2000
    Location
    Corsica
    Posts
    552
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Well, always check for your hardware's drivers before changing OSes, especially don't believe MS's claims about supporting everything... :|
    As for the Outlook thingie, I wouldn't know what is the problem, I use Eudora when I'm on Windows...

  5. #5
    Mlle. Ledoyen silver trophy seanf's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    7,168
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Lot's of companies are working on XP drivers now

    Sean
    Harry Potter

    -- You lived inside my world so softly
    -- Protected only by the kindness of your nature

  6. #6
    Wanna-be Apple nut silver trophy M. Johansson's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2000
    Location
    Halmstad, Sweden
    Posts
    7,400
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Re: me 2

    Originally posted by SWD
    that's nothing! I upgraded from Win98 to WindowsXP and you know? My modem company doesn't have the drivers for the Windows XP so Im without internet in the other pc where I do all my design and my CD-R is not working also because I need the new version of the recorder.. What about that?
    XP is almost the same as windows2000 with a nicer gui. Have you tried using the Windows 2000 drivers?
    Mattias Johansson
    Short, Swedish, Web Developer

    Buttons and Dog Tags with your custom design:
    FatStatement.com

  7. #7
    + platinum's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Location
    Adelaide, Australia
    Posts
    6,441
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    hehe, my friend was telling me how stable his WinXP was... then it crashed when I was playing with the 'style' settings...... hehe

  8. #8
    SitePoint Wizard dominique's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    orbis terrarum
    Posts
    1,523
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    c-prompt, did you unistall Office XP before you reinstalled it? If you didn't, do it. If you did, try reinstalling right over the existing copy.

    You might be lucky. To think that Office XP does not work on WinXP!

  9. #9
    SitePoint Zealot c-pr0mpt's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Location
    Michigan
    Posts
    171
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Originally posted by dominique

    You might be lucky. To think that Office XP does not work on WinXP!
    Thats what I was thinking!

    Now its doing it with Frontpage as well. This prompt keeps coming up to install it, I just click cancel and it loads....lol Its like it takes me clicking the icon as starting an install.
    ravio.com
    Email: corey@ravio.com

  10. #10
    Former Staff Member silver trophy Adam P.'s Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Location
    San Francisco
    Posts
    3,288
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Hi all.

    Just got my new computer (for my birthday). I absolutely love it. It came with Windows 2000 Pro and it is absolutely great. Hasn't crashed once (although it's only been about a week ). But my comp. came w/ a free Windows XP Pro Upgrade. I just got to order it online and put in some code that they gave me and I get it for free. I'll get it no matter what, but do you think I should put it on my computer, or stick with 2000? I would love to have the new GUI, but I've been hearing some bad stories about XP.

    Also, C-Promt, did you run the compatibility check before you installed XP? That might've been a good idea. I went to install XP on my sisters comp. (it has Windows 98), and I did the compatibility check, just in case, and up came about 8 things that were incompatible w/ XP, 5 or so that may with XP, and a few other incompatible type stuff. I was like, "NEVERMIND!".

    Also, my uncle put XP on his computer, and when he did, his Easy CD Creator 4 wasn't compatible with it. He went to the Roxio.com site and read about Upgrading so that it would work with XP. All that they basically told him to do was to buy version 5, $80.00, so that it would work!! Such a rip off.
    SPF Mentor/Advisor 2001-2003
    SPF Designer of the Year 2002
    SPF Graphic Designer of the Year 2003
    AdamPolselli.com

  11. #11
    Prolific Blogger silver trophy Technosailor's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Location
    Before These Crowded Streets
    Posts
    9,446
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    none of Roxio's products work with XP. Don't buy any of them yet. I crashed my ststem...thank God for System restore. There is a built in CD burning software. Use it. I heard it's the only CD burning software that actually works with XP. NERO doesn't work either.

    Sketch
    Aaron Brazell
    Technosailor



  12. #12
    What's HTML?
    Join Date
    May 2001
    Location
    San Diego, CA
    Posts
    1,701
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Remind me why XP is supposed to be a good thing...
    Ryan Kuhle - A Proud Advisor - Got Questions? Just Ask!
    Get your website started for less than $20! Click Here

  13. #13
    There can be only One.... joelwills's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2000
    Location
    England
    Posts
    201
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Definitely try the Win 2k drivers (if XP ones are not out), fixed my modem, Scanner, TV card.......etc
    Life Goggles - The Entertaining Environment Blog
    http://www.lifegoggles.com

  14. #14
    SitePoint Member SaintDog's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Posts
    1
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Actually, I am not seeing a problem with XP and the drivers. Nero is working fine for me and I have had it installed for over a month now (I had a beta copy of Windows XP). I am not sure what all is wrong, or why nero does not work. As far as Office XP, I have that also and all is fine, but before installing WinXP, I suggest that you uninstall any version of Office you may have as it installed Office 2000 on my computer, then I just upgraded.

    Other from having to uninstall office and upgrade, everything is working great for me. My printer, cd-burner, speakers, ect - everything is just fine. I guess some people just have bad experiences with some of Microsofts software, I know it can be a pain sometimes. I will look at FrontPage 2002 - I hate it, it places more useless code into your pages than you will ever need. It places collapsed boarders in when you don't even ask for them, when you create a table, it is automatic (you don't get the default boarders).

    Maybe I am just one of the lucky ones? I have not had one thing happen to my computer as far as drivers not working, software not working, or computer crashing/freezing.

    (btw, I installed some of the NT drivers also since XP ones were not released - they work as well for some things. You may wish to try them out, see if they work and all.)
    Jonathan Tittle
    ViperHost Owner
    admin@viperhost.com
    http://www.viperhost.com

  15. #15
    SitePoint Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    Springfield, MO
    Posts
    63
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Actually, I had a similar problem with Quicktime doing the install thing, except it was an upgrade notice- after I had downloaded the latest version.

    In this case, all I had to was check "Always trust downloads from..." and it quit.

    In the case of Office XP, I don't know.

    I found the driver for my sound card on the Gateway site, but not on the card manufacturer's site. You might want to check with whatever company manufactured your computer (if there is one).
    ---------------------------------
    UnobUtt: http://www.unobutt.com/

  16. #16
    SitePoint Addict SniperUK's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2000
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    367
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    that should teach you to do a clean install next time

  17. #17
    SitePoint Wizard silver trophy Jeremy W.'s Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Location
    Toronto, Canada
    Posts
    9,121
    Mentioned
    2 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    corey, there is an easy solution here mate: put the CD in.

    Windows 2000 and XP will regularly need to have CD's (especially office, ESPECIALLY FRONTPAGE) reinstalled. Only takes a second (it probably says "installing office components" or something, right?)) installed.
    SVP Marketing, SoCast SRM
    Personal blog: Strategerize
    Twitter: @jeremywright

  18. #18
    Former Staff Member silver trophy Adam P.'s Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Location
    San Francisco
    Posts
    3,288
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Originally posted by Sketch
    none of Roxio's products work with XP
    Wrong. I am pretty sure that Easy CD Creator Versions 5 and up work with XP.
    SPF Mentor/Advisor 2001-2003
    SPF Designer of the Year 2002
    SPF Graphic Designer of the Year 2003
    AdamPolselli.com

  19. #19
    Prolific Blogger silver trophy Technosailor's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Location
    Before These Crowded Streets
    Posts
    9,446
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    They say it does but in the newsgroups all over the internet people are having problems with CD Creator 5 for XP. Roxio put out a patch and it still doesn't work.

    Sketch
    Aaron Brazell
    Technosailor



  20. #20
    Former Staff Member silver trophy Adam P.'s Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Location
    San Francisco
    Posts
    3,288
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Originally posted by Sketch
    They say it does but in the newsgroups all over the internet people are having problems with CD Creator 5 for XP. Roxio put out a patch and it still doesn't work.

    Sketch
    Seriously? Wow, that sucks. Well, I'm definitely going to put a hold on putting XP on my computer.
    SPF Mentor/Advisor 2001-2003
    SPF Designer of the Year 2002
    SPF Graphic Designer of the Year 2003
    AdamPolselli.com

  21. #21
    Prolific Blogger silver trophy Technosailor's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Location
    Before These Crowded Streets
    Posts
    9,446
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    well, I'm sure Roxio will get its act together. On the plus side, XP has a built in, completely inegrated lite version of Roxio's software that seems to work decent. At least it could hold you over until Roxio get's it stuff together. I love XP. If you have the software and are ready to install it and CD burning software is the only thing holding you up, I'd say take the dive. It's a great OS. I love it!

    sketch
    Aaron Brazell
    Technosailor



  22. #22
    Former Staff Member silver trophy Adam P.'s Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Location
    San Francisco
    Posts
    3,288
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Thanks for the advice Sketch!
    SPF Mentor/Advisor 2001-2003
    SPF Designer of the Year 2002
    SPF Graphic Designer of the Year 2003
    AdamPolselli.com

  23. #23
    Sports Publisher mjames's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2000
    Location
    Charlotte, NC
    Posts
    5,891
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Originally posted by swimm5001


    Wrong. I am pretty sure that Easy CD Creator Versions 5 and up work with XP.
    I heard on the contrary, actually. Since XP has a built-in program similar to Easy CD Creator, the two conflict when you have both installed.

  24. #24
    What? Maelstrom's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Whistler BC originally from Guelph Ontario
    Posts
    2,175
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Originally posted by RKuhle
    Aren't drivers upwards compatible?
    Nope. I lost quite a bit of my stuff. XP is based on a stricter hardware system of WinNT not 95 and 98
    Maelstrom Personal - Apparition Visions
    Development - PhP || Mysql || Zend || Devshed
    Unix - FreeBSD || FreeBsdForums || Man Pages
    They made me a sitepoint Mentor - Feel free to PM me or Email me and I will see if I can help.

  25. #25
    will code HTML for food Michel V's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2000
    Location
    Corsica
    Posts
    552
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Shouldn't that built-in CD burning software, and the conflicts it has with competitors' products, be considered a monopoly practice ?


Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •