SitePoint Sponsor

User Tag List

Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

Question CSS vs. Tables - The dreaded debate...

I have read posts on various forums, reviewed several designs and designed myself... However I still run into the issue of tables, no tables ad CSS or tables with CSS... I find it more difficult to make things look the same across browsers, mainly IE and Firefox when using CSS. I am not a CSS expert by any means; however I have spent sometime in using it and reading about it. I find it humorous to find that there is always a “CSS hack” for certain things, and not any one browser complying 100% with CSS standards. It makes one think, “Why bother?” Until all the browsers are 100% compliant why go strictly CSS? For me, its a lot more time and effort, however when I use a modified layout with CSS and tables, things seem to match up ever so nicely. This doesn’t mean that I am going to stop trying 100% CSS, I just wanted to get some input on the matter. It seems more trouble than what its worth!!!

Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Let the wars begin In all seriousness I use css for layout and formatting and tables now for data. Its just easier for me.

Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    i tried many times to replace tables with css, but i just gave up after a few hours every time. tables are easier but css is cooler and its the way of the future...

Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

Thumbs up Right on!!!