SitePoint Sponsor

User Tag List

SitePoint Member
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

Question Frontpage or Dreamweaver 8?

I am a relative newbie to web design, and have been using Frontpage for the past year or so for all my web publications.

I have recently purchased Flash Pro 8 and I'm having great fun with the features it has to offer and incorporating them into my webs via Frontpage.

Now I am wondering what DW8 has to offer and whether it is worthwhile taking the leap from Frontpage or not.

Are there lots of complicated concepts I need to get up to speed with or can I just pick up where Frontpage left off? Will I notice a HUGE difference?

Will I be able to "convert" (for the want of a better word) my FP pages into DW8 formats without and problems?

Final question, (and thank you for your patience), but I like the sync features you get with FP. I make a few changes to my websites on my PC and then FP syncs up to the webserver/s, works out what changes have been made, and updates the necessary files. I assume DW8 has this feature (note, I do not run any server features on my editing PC, it's just a plain old desktop).

Thank you in advance

SitePoint Member
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    dreamweaver. easy

The Mind's I ® silver trophy Dark Tranquility's Avatar
    Mentioned
    8 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)
    I would say all the WYSIWYG editors are not good!! so it is better not to use any of them!
    You can take a look here And you will find many nice editors with their pricing etc...
    But if you want to compare MS FrontPage to Adobe Dreamweaver 8.0 well my friend Dreamweaver wins this one hands down!
    Frontpage is crappy...

Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    You should never use Frontpage I always used notepad when only Frontpage is available.

Dreamweaver wins ofc

SitePoint Member
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)