SitePoint Sponsor

User Tag List

Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    SitePoint Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    Indianapolis, IN
    Posts
    28
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Finding Ruby Path

    I am newer to Ruby and learning it more and more each day. One thing I have noticed is, some of the applications, such as Tracks, that use Ruby need to know where the path to Ruby is.

    I had this dedicated server setup for me to play around with. I had them install things like ColdFusion and Ruby with the Rails packages.

    I know in php you have the phpinfo.php that you can use to find anything about your php install out. Does Ruby have something like that?

    Thanks,

    Brad

  2. #2
    ☆★☆★ silver trophy vgarcia's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    in transition
    Posts
    21,236
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)
    Can you log into your shell? Finding the ruby path is as easy as typing in
    Code:
    whereis ruby
    at a terminal window.

  3. #3
    SitePoint Evangelist
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    California
    Posts
    440
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I've never heard of "whereis" so if that does not work try "which" (whereis could very well work, but I just have never heard of it)
    Happy switcher to OS X running on a MacBook Pro.

    Zend Certified Engineer

  4. #4
    ☆★☆★ silver trophy vgarcia's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    in transition
    Posts
    21,236
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by xmitchx
    I've never heard of "whereis" so if that does not work try "which" (whereis could very well work, but I just have never heard of it)
    whereis works on Linux

  5. #5
    SitePoint Evangelist
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    California
    Posts
    440
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Good to know Thanks for the tidbit heh
    Happy switcher to OS X running on a MacBook Pro.

    Zend Certified Engineer

  6. #6
    SitePoint Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    Indianapolis, IN
    Posts
    28
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I am not new by any means to using SSH, but I had gotten so used to just knowing where stuff was when I had my old server that I completely forgot about the "which" command... and I never even knew about the whereis command, but lo and behold... it worked like a charm. Thanks for all of your input.

    Brad


Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •