SitePoint Sponsor

User Tag List

Results 1 to 8 of 8
  1. #1
    SitePoint Member
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Posts
    12
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    what host do I need to launch a proxy site? thanks

    I want to launch a proxy site, and could you please tell me what host do I need if my proxy site has 2000+ unique daily?

    please include CPU, Memory, BandWidth

    thanks very much

  2. #2
    SitePoint Enthusiast
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Posts
    41
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    you need a dedicated server or at least a VPS.


    I, myself, am looking into a dedicated server as of right now. It has only been a week since I launched my proxy and I feel that it is time to move. I get about 800-900 uniques a day. I have no experience with servers thus I need a managed server (costs more than unmanaged). But I am planning to learn and possibly move to an unmanaged later on.
    Unemployed - PM to hire

  3. #3
    SitePoint Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    London
    Posts
    7
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I would hold of the purchase of a dedicated server and even a VPS if this proxy website is new. You can find a number of hosts that allow proxies just make sure you contact the host before placing the proxy script on your account.

  4. #4
    SitePoint Member
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Posts
    12
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    thanks you all
    about 2000 unique daily needs how much bandwidth?

  5. #5
    SitePoint Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    London
    Posts
    7
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Until you are receiving this amount then don't look for anything higher than 30GB per month.

  6. #6
    SitePoint Zealot musher's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Hull, England
    Posts
    161
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    My dedicated server provides:

    Athlon 3000
    1024 Mb
    1000 GB

    It manages okay with 2000 uniques a day, but tends to struggle due to people hotlinking etc. I'd rather spend time improving the traffic that comes through, blocking hotlinking etc than beef up the server and just let it deal with it.

  7. #7
    SitePoint Enthusiast
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Posts
    41
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    30gb is not enough. My new proxy launched last week and it already used 17gb of bandwidth. It has about 1000 uniques on average. And if you do get 2000 uniques, you damn sure need at least a VPS or a dedicated server.
    Unemployed - PM to hire

  8. #8
    SitePoint Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Posts
    12
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Remember scripts like DirectAdmin & cPanel can no measure proxy usage. You have to have a bandwidth monitor that watchs incoming/outgoing.


Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •