SitePoint Sponsor

User Tag List

Results 1 to 14 of 14
  1. #1
    SitePoint Addict
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Posts
    330
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Protecting your identity from whois

    I have this conflict everytime I register a new domain . . .

    I go to a lot of trouble to protect my personal identity in all the other aspects of my life, but when I register a domain I'm expected to put accurate street address and other info where ANYONE can see it with a whois.

    I usually fudge it just enough so I can still be contacted but not actually be "found" but I'm writing to ask what other people use as a strategy to protect their privacy. In this age of spam and identity theft it seems that whois is a hole big enough to fly a jumbo jet through.

  2. #2
    SitePoint Addict yourhostnow's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    New York
    Posts
    363
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Well if you register your domains with namecheap.com you can protect your Whois free. Do a whois search on dnlodge.com and you'll see that the whois for my site is protected.

    Godaddy offers this (I think you might have to pay extra) but most registrars offer a private registration. With namecheap, the service is called WhoisGaurd.

    Edit:

    Haha... i put namepros instead of namecheap... edited!!

  3. #3
    He's No Good To Me Dead silver trophybronze trophy stymiee's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Slave I
    Posts
    23,426
    Mentioned
    2 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)
    Private registration is so inexpensive I always do it. Unfortunately it is not available for some domain extensions.

  4. #4
    SitePoint Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Posts
    82
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Many providers have some form of a whois protection or whoisguard (namecheap) option available for you to purchase or have it included in your domain name registration. It's definitely a nice feature.

  5. #5
    Non-Member toniya's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Posts
    480
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    If you are allowed full rights of your domain and offered a cpanel, mostly an option is available either to show your details in whois data or not. You can yourself enable/disable this feature through cpanel.

  6. #6
    SitePoint Addict yourhostnow's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    New York
    Posts
    363
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    No you can't toniya it must be done through your registrar. You don't manage domains through cpanel.

  7. #7
    Non-Member toniya's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Posts
    480
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by yourhostnow
    No you can't toniya
    Yes, I can.
    it must be done through your registrar. You don't manage domains through cpanel.
    As a webhost we provide this feature to our clients to not only manage their domains but WHOIS info also. Clients can decide how they want their domains info to be displayed in WHOIS search. Here is the link of my FAQ page <no self-promo on SP>
    Last edited by ses5909; May 27, 2006 at 10:54.

  8. #8
    SitePoint Addict yourhostnow's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    New York
    Posts
    363
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Yea, but thats not through cPanel.

  9. #9
    Non-Member toniya's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Posts
    480
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by yourhostnow
    Yea, but thats not through cPanel.
    Yes, it is. Please read FAQ once again carefully. It reads - client will login to CPANEL and will visit 'WHOIS FORMAT' to modify it as he want his domain info to be displayed in whois search.

  10. #10
    SitePoint Evangelist DMacedo's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    Braga, Portugal
    Posts
    596
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I second the WhoisGuard from NameCheap.com, it's inexpensive and I have it on almost all domains. (Can't get around to take care of those that don't have it yet )
    ~ Daniel Macedo

  11. #11
    SitePoint Addict yourhostnow's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    New York
    Posts
    363
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    it's inexpensive
    It's free

  12. #12
    SitePoint Evangelist DMacedo's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    Braga, Portugal
    Posts
    596
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    It's only free for the first year, let's not fool anyone into thinking it's a lifetime freebie, it's inexpensive, that's for sure!

    After the first free year it's $2.88/year (a bit less if you want for more than one domain)
    ~ Daniel Macedo

  13. #13
    SitePoint Addict yourhostnow's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    New York
    Posts
    363
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Hm, I just renewed a domain and i didn't pay extra for it at namecheap. Weird. Maybe thats because I wasn't currently using whoisgaurd for other doamins I had... Or maybe I'm wrong all together.

    Oh well, ya gotta be wrong sometimes!!

  14. #14
    SitePoint Evangelist DMacedo's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    Braga, Portugal
    Posts
    596
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    You should see those whoisguards starting to expire and requesting renewal a year after you registered the domain that brought them to your account. I've had that happen since I registered a domain, but had the whoisguard used on another domain, so the expiration dates of the whoisguard and the domain to which it was attached were not the same
    ~ Daniel Macedo


Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •