SitePoint Sponsor

User Tag List

Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

Sircam Virus...I think? Please help.

Can anyone help me out here. Someone just called me and told me that I have been sedning hin the Sircam virus for a couple months now....he just now decided to call me and let me know. He said my email program sends him 20 emails a day. He said he knew it was me b/c he checked the header and my email addy was in there. Anyhow, I know nothing about viruses, I don't know how I got being I never opened one of those attachments (knowing what they were), I just deleted them. I use Microsoft Outlook and sometime Outlook Express too. Can anyone give me advice of what to do or where to go?

Thanks so much,
    Stephanie

Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    1) Get rid of Ms Outlook. The new "viruses" that are coming out, do not require you to even open the attachment. They will execute when you just view the message. I am not sure if Sircam is one of them or not. Eudora is great, you might check it out http://www.eudora.com

2) Go to http://www.norton.com/avcenter and look up your virus. It will show you how to remove it. Its number 2 listed under "top virus threats" heading

3) Or, I suppose you could download/purchase an antivirus program, which is not a bad idea considering you are using outlook :/

Hope this helps.
    --There's my 1.5 cents, now where is my change!?!?

Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    TinyPlanet.org
    Discuss and Debate World Events, Politics and Religion.
    Interact and Share your Views with People around the Globe.

SitePoint Zealot
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Though you can't be sure, I would say that if your computer is working properly otherwise, you don't have Sircam. It renders your programs unusable with the exception of the internet pretty quickly. It will also spread to any other computers if you are networked.