SitePoint Sponsor

User Tag List

Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

Book recommendation on web design?

Hi guys.
    I'm a Php/MySQL programmer who is getting interested in the 'design' part of the websites. Basically, I suck at designing, and everything related to graphics or colors, wether its on a computer or on a paper (My teacher thought a dog i drew was a crocodile back when I was 5 years old!! ).

The thing is, I'm about to start work on a web based product, and I want to design its interface myself because:
    1) If I outsource this job to someone else, what they'll do for me would look pretty but it might lack the kind of user experience which I want to give the users. For example, I want to throw in a lot of little features as I go about this, which would make the life of the user eaiser, such as auto-complete, displaying recommendations as the user types something or clicks at something, stuff like that.

2) If I design the interface myself, I'll save the extra $200-1000 that it would cost me to outsource the job. That money could be better spent on marketing.

That being said, 1) is still the bigger factor of my decision. Sure, I'm still going to outsource the logo and any other graphics used in the interface, but I want to do the actual interface myself.

So what I'm looking for is a book that will teach me:
    1) How to make web pages look pretty.
    2) The use of Ajax, javascript, and the other cool stuff to make the interface easier to use.

So far all the books I've found focus on either (1) or (2). Have any of you heard of/read any book which focuses on both?

Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by digitman
    Way old and out-of-date now (and doesn't cover either of your requests), although it's good for a history of web standards.