SitePoint Sponsor

User Tag List

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 25 of 37
  1. #1
    SitePoint Wizard Aes's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Location
    Oklahoma
    Posts
    3,392
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Please Help Me!!!

    All right -- I need help. Windows went to hell on me. I don't have the use of my mouse, and I cannot find my Windows installation CD to install the driver. I'm stuck on this 640x480 resolution with 16 colors, and I'm just really in a bad situation here. I do not know what to do. SafeMode didn't help at all (although I did have the use of my mouse in safe mode). What can I do to get my computer back in working order? Any help is extremely appreciated!
    Last edited by Aes; Nov 11, 2001 at 15:29.
    Colin Anderson
    Ambition is a poor excuse for those without
    sense enough to be lazy.

  2. #2
    Net Senior Citizen tommatthews's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Location
    Sydney Australia
    Posts
    869
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Try a different display driver


    affordable website design

    :: sydney australia ::

  3. #3
    SitePoint Wizard Aes's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Location
    Oklahoma
    Posts
    3,392
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    How? I can't. I can't seem to do anything here. Nothing is working.
    Colin Anderson
    Ambition is a poor excuse for those without
    sense enough to be lazy.

  4. #4
    Net Senior Citizen tommatthews's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Location
    Sydney Australia
    Posts
    869
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    In Safe Mode, go to Contol Panel and then System / Device Manager/Display Adaptors and delete the driver that is there and restart your computer. When you restart plug and play will find the monitor and you should be able to select a driver.

    Or you can go to Contol Panel/Display/Settings/Advanced/Adapter/Change


    affordable website design

    :: sydney australia ::

  5. #5
    SitePoint Wizard Aes's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Location
    Oklahoma
    Posts
    3,392
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Thank you thus far. I can now see again, so to speak. Sound isn't working, but more importantly, my mouse won't work. I can't install any drivers for it -- it simply tells me that the current driver is damaged and I'll have to use the Windows CD to fix it. Do you know of any sites that will have a standard mouse driver or something?

    ::sigh:: I wish I were still on Linux.
    Colin Anderson
    Ambition is a poor excuse for those without
    sense enough to be lazy.

  6. #6
    Net Senior Citizen tommatthews's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Location
    Sydney Australia
    Posts
    869
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Whenever I have problems with the mouse freezing it has been display related. But if you are getting that message I would go to Control Panel/System/Device manager/Mouse and delete the mouse driver and restart the computer again.


    affordable website design

    :: sydney australia ::

  7. #7
    Net Senior Citizen tommatthews's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Location
    Sydney Australia
    Posts
    869
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    If that doesn't work let me know and I will email you the MS mouse driver.


    affordable website design

    :: sydney australia ::

  8. #8
    SitePoint Wizard Aes's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Location
    Oklahoma
    Posts
    3,392
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Eh -- nevermind. Thank you for helping me with the display problem -- so I could see what I was doing. Windows is simply retarded. I did a manual mouse configuration and was able to install the driver and enable the mouse that Windows wizard thought didn't exist.

    ::sigh:: I pity those users of Windows that know nothing beyond wizards (like me!)

    Thanks very much Tom. I really do appreciate it.
    Colin Anderson
    Ambition is a poor excuse for those without
    sense enough to be lazy.

  9. #9
    Net Senior Citizen tommatthews's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Location
    Sydney Australia
    Posts
    869
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    No prob. Been there many times...


    affordable website design

    :: sydney australia ::

  10. #10
    SitePoint Wizard Aes's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Location
    Oklahoma
    Posts
    3,392
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Actually, I cannot figure out how to get my sound working at all. I've installed from there different drivers and nothing seems to work. Any ideas? (Sorry this is so ... broad).
    Colin Anderson
    Ambition is a poor excuse for those without
    sense enough to be lazy.

  11. #11
    Net Senior Citizen tommatthews's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Location
    Sydney Australia
    Posts
    869
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    You can try the same thing- delete your sound driver in control panel and re-start for plug and play to pick it up.


    affordable website design

    :: sydney australia ::

  12. #12
    SitePoint Wizard Aes's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Location
    Oklahoma
    Posts
    3,392
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Hrm -- good idea. Thanks; I'll try that.
    Colin Anderson
    Ambition is a poor excuse for those without
    sense enough to be lazy.

  13. #13
    + platinum's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Location
    Adelaide, Australia
    Posts
    6,441
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Another success for the Tom Matthew's Computer Support Desk......

  14. #14
    Net Senior Citizen tommatthews's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Location
    Sydney Australia
    Posts
    869
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    He hasn't said if it worked yet
    This is suppose to be a day off from that job!


    affordable website design

    :: sydney australia ::

  15. #15
    Digital Warrior Renegade's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2000
    Location
    Portland, OR
    Posts
    480
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    What version of windows are you running? if its 95/98/me, yeah, those suck. Try out win2k for a stable version.

    Win2k, for me at least, has been more stable than my Red Hat 6.2 box at work, sitting right next to it.

    RH crashes a lot. KDE even shut down when I attempted to change the TIME. a simple enough thing to do you would think. Pressed return and BAMMO, command prompt, KDE woudln't reload when I typed startx.

    reboot

    Windows isn't the only OS with probs.
    --There's my 1.5 cents, now where is my change!?!?

  16. #16
    SitePoint Wizard Aes's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Location
    Oklahoma
    Posts
    3,392
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Yeah -- 98SE can be difficult at times ... ermm .. all of the time.

    Actually, I removed all of the audio devices, and then rebooted as Tom suggested and Windows found and installed the appropriate drivers etc. At least it thinks it did. I still have no sound at all. It's a bit annoying.

    When I'm in the multimedia properties dialogue boxes, the "Audio" tab is completely grayed out, so I can't even select whether to display the volume control in the task bar. Under the actual driver properties, it tells me they are enabled but defunct due to unknown problems.

    Any ideas are, once again, greatly appreciated -- it's rather difficult working without sound ... and music.

    As soon as I can secure a copy of XP (professional I hope), I will. And a brand new distro of Mandrake 8.1 will soon be on its way.
    Colin Anderson
    Ambition is a poor excuse for those without
    sense enough to be lazy.

  17. #17
    Net Senior Citizen tommatthews's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Location
    Sydney Australia
    Posts
    869
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Hmmm... Microsoft just recomend upgarding your drivers.

    http://support.microsoft.com/support...n_SRCH&SPR=W98
    To resolve this issue, contact the sound card manufacturer to obtain the correct driver for the sound card. If the sound card is a Plug and Play card, use Device Manager to manually update a driver by pointing to the driver's .inf file.


    affordable website design

    :: sydney australia ::

  18. #18
    SitePoint Wizard Aes's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Location
    Oklahoma
    Posts
    3,392
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Thanks -- sorry for the late reply. I'll take a look into that.
    Colin Anderson
    Ambition is a poor excuse for those without
    sense enough to be lazy.

  19. #19
    SitePoint Enthusiast Chris H's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Peasant Town, East of Wales
    Posts
    93
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    It could be that you're sound card's stuffed. Perhaps try borrowing one and giving it a go.

    If you have an onboard soundchip then perhaps somethings changed in the BIOS? See if onboard soundchip is enabled or disabled in BIOS.

    What happened to Windows?
    MSWD for website building

  20. #20
    Net Senior Citizen tommatthews's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Location
    Sydney Australia
    Posts
    869
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Sounds like he had a major Windows crash that changed all his settings!


    affordable website design

    :: sydney australia ::

  21. #21
    SitePoint Wizard Aes's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Location
    Oklahoma
    Posts
    3,392
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Yeah -- basically. I went into the BIOS and looked around -- didn't see anything in the section that would have anything to do with audio -- everything was enabled. Removed the drivers and went to Windows update, which found an updated Via Technologies driver, and installed it -- but it continues to not work.
    Colin Anderson
    Ambition is a poor excuse for those without
    sense enough to be lazy.

  22. #22
    SitePoint Wizard Aes's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Location
    Oklahoma
    Posts
    3,392
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    So -- should I consider this a lost cause? Because I think I'm suffering from sensory (e.g. auditory) deprivation, and I need to know if I should accept it.
    Colin Anderson
    Ambition is a poor excuse for those without
    sense enough to be lazy.

  23. #23
    + platinum's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Location
    Adelaide, Australia
    Posts
    6,441
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    what are you testing the sound with? .wav file? or MP3 or somthing?

    Make sure that the sound isn't muted (hehe) (double click the sound icon and check the seperate channels are up around 1/2 to 2/3 way up).

    As someone said before, it might be usefull to try another soundcard, but that might be too much of a coincidence.

    And i used to have a troublesome soundcard, and i just deleted all of it's autoexec.bat file entries, i dont really know why it started working, but it did

  24. #24
    SitePoint Enthusiast jeremyk's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2001
    Location
    Calgary, Alberta, Canada
    Posts
    69
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    LOL

    I was just thinking of the mute button being on before you mentioned it, platinum.
    File not found. Look behind couch? (Y/N)

  25. #25
    + platinum's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Location
    Adelaide, Australia
    Posts
    6,441
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    i've done dumb stuff like that before... ya never know


Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •