SitePoint Sponsor

User Tag List

Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    SitePoint Addict sparkdigital's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    Kendal, Cumbria - The Lake District, UK
    Posts
    249
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Unhappy I'm going mad - template based website works perfectly apart from the homepage footer

    If anyone can help me with this one then I'd be very grateful, I'm going mad!

    My website www.linthwaite.com is uses dreamweaver templates, is CSS based and works well in IE and Firefox apart from one thing.

    The footer on the homepage does not work in Firefox. This includes links and the signup box. It works on all other pages deeper within the site.

    I've no idea why this could be as all pages are based on the same template and the footer is a non-editable region.

    Any ideas? Much appreciated!

    Konrad

    P.s. Just tried more pages and the same problem occurs on some other pages too but can't see any link between these pages...

  2. #2
    SitePoint Zealot
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Posts
    106
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Channel Z

    Have you tried adding a z-index value greater than one to the #footer definition (e.g. z-index:100;)? It looks like it's just getting covered by something else...

    TaliaJ

  3. #3
    SitePoint Addict sparkdigital's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    Kendal, Cumbria - The Lake District, UK
    Posts
    249
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Good point, it seems to occur only on shaort pages so something might be overlapping! I'll have a look into it.

    Thanks very much,

    Konrad

  4. #4
    SitePoint Member jsoul4life's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Posts
    4
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Lightbulb Re:Footer Not Working Properly

    If the z-index dosen't work than try to clear the footer which should seperate it from the rest of the content.

    example:
    #footer {
    clear:both;
    }

    jAcK sOuL 4 LiFe

  5. #5
    SitePoint Addict sparkdigital's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    Kendal, Cumbria - The Lake District, UK
    Posts
    249
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Thumbs up Great stuff, thanks!

    Sorry for the late reply, yes it was purely a matter of setting the z-indexes right. I found this tip very handy to see what boxes are defined in your stylesheet:

    Just add

    HTML Code:
    div {
    	border: 1px dashed black;
    }
    to your stylesheet and it will display all boxes so you can figure out what's happening.

  6. #6
    SitePoint Zealot
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Posts
    106
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Glad to hear you're up and running!

    Don't know if you're using FireFox when you're developing, but their Web Developer extension has an automatic "outline" feature that accomplishes something similar, but extends it to tables, frames, block level elements, deprecated, etc. Comes in handy!

    TaliaJ


Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •