SitePoint Sponsor

User Tag List

Results 1 to 7 of 7

Hybrid View

  1. #1
    SitePoint Evangelist
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Fort Lauderdale
    Posts
    522
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Running ROL on FreeBSD6, how to configure Apache 1.3

    Hi,

    i have freebsd6 and apache1.3 and mysql. I just installed ruby gems and rails and now would like to configure apache1.3 to work with it.

    What are the steps.

    Thanks

  2. #2
    SitePoint Enthusiast kyko's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Posts
    32
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    these links might get you headed in the right direction. neither of them are freebsd specific but that should *not be a problem.

    http://bobcares.com/article38.html

    http://bealers.com/2006/04/30/instal...ith-apache-13/

    Let us know how it goes

  3. #3
    SitePoint Evangelist
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Fort Lauderdale
    Posts
    522
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I was actually able to do it on my own.

    FreeBSD 6 RELEASE;

    1. I installed from the port fastcgi module for apache.
    2. It added all the stuff to my httpd.conf file. I had to uncomment them out.
    3. Here is my httpd.conf
    Code:
    Listen 8080
    
    <VirtualHost *:8080>
    Servername rails
    DocumentRoot "/usr/home/paul/railsprojects/test/public"
    <Directory  "/usr/home/paul/railsprojects/test/public">
    Options ExecCGI FollowSymLinks
    AllowOverride All
    Allow from all
    Order allow,deny
    AddHandler cgi-script .cgi
    AddHandler fastcgi-script .fcgi
    </Directory>
    </VirtualHost>
    and so now when I go to http://myipaddress:8080/

    my test app shows. I like it

  4. #4
    SitePoint Evangelist
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Fort Lauderdale
    Posts
    522
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    the "You are on rails" page comes up, but when I create the "hello world" controller it doesnt work. What else am I missing?

    I am not getting any ruby errors either....
    Do I need to somehow connect ruby with apache...just like php and apache?

  5. #5
    SitePoint Enthusiast kyko's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Posts
    32
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    If you aren't getting any errors, you mean it is just shoing you a blank page right? Check your log, to see if it is a 500 error and/or you have bad permissions like "permission denied on such and such file"
    Do I need to somehow connect ruby with apache...just like php and apache?
    I've only developed using WebBrick on Mac OS X and deployed some tests on my hosts linux server (shared hosting) so I don't know for sure. However there might be a step you are missing so take a look at:
    http://www.infused.org/2005/03/19/ru...cgi-and-ensim/
    This one may be particularly good for you but it has a buch of suse linux stuff so just skip down to the part that says "Using Ruby Rails with the Apache Web server"
    http://developer.novell.com/wiki/ind...erprise_Server

    Let us know how it goes, I will be setting up a testing box with freebsd as well as a few distros of linux for testing my web apps in a few days. I plan on trying both Apache and Lighttpd.
    Stop Global &nbsp;

  6. #6
    SitePoint Evangelist
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Worcs. UK
    Posts
    404
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I'm using a different environment: Apache 1.3 on Windows XP and 2003.

    However, one thing that caught me out for a while is that with Apache 1.3 you have to add the line:

    AddModule mod_fastcgi.c

    to httpd.conf, as well as the LoadModule declaration. Most of the guides I found are for Apache 2, which doesn't need the AddModule declaration.

  7. #7
    SitePoint Evangelist
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Fort Lauderdale
    Posts
    522
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    one of the things that are lacking in the documentation of ROR is the production environment setup. I also would like to hook ROR with Lighttpd this week - will keep you posted.


Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •