SitePoint Sponsor

User Tag List

Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: CSS positioning

  1. #1
    Prolific Blogger silver trophy Technosailor's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Location
    Before These Crowded Streets
    Posts
    9,446
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    CSS positioning

    How do ya'll determine positioning of layers in CSS? Do you have a method for determining the pixel positioning or is it just trial and error? Or do you tend not to use absolute positioning and instead use relative? This is an area of CSS that I have not found real simple to pickup and has caused many a headache.

    Sketch
    Aaron Brazell
    Technosailor



  2. #2
    SitePoint Wizard creole's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2000
    Location
    Nashvegas Baby!
    Posts
    7,845
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Not exactly sure what you mean but I assume that you're asking if it's possible to precisely place an element on a page?

    If that's what you need then it's as simple as this line of code:

    .element { position: absolute; top: 125px; left: 100px; }

    Hold on...I think you're asking how I decide where I want an element? If that's what you're asking then it's all in the design. I personally would not trust positioned elements to the browser's whim. I will use TABLEs for positioning for some time to come.
    Adobe Certified Coldfusion MX 7 Developer
    Adobe Certified Advanced Coldfusion MX Developer
    My Blog (new) | My Family | My Freelance | My Recipes

  3. #3
    Prolific Blogger silver trophy Technosailor's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Location
    Before These Crowded Streets
    Posts
    9,446
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    okay, I understand that, but is there a method to determining the top and left coordinates or it just trial and error?

    Sketch
    Aaron Brazell
    Technosailor



  4. #4
    Bored One boredboi's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2000
    Posts
    238
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    you could always take a screenshot and use a graphics program to measure...

    alternatively, there's a technique that involves image maps, that allows the cursor coordinates to be displayed in the status bar.

    i can't remember the code, but i know it has something to do with image maps. perhaps someone else can help.

  5. #5
    SitePoint Wizard creole's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2000
    Location
    Nashvegas Baby!
    Posts
    7,845
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    screenshot is he easiest way.
    Adobe Certified Coldfusion MX 7 Developer
    Adobe Certified Advanced Coldfusion MX Developer
    My Blog (new) | My Family | My Freelance | My Recipes

  6. #6
    What? Maelstrom's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Whistler BC originally from Guelph Ontario
    Posts
    2,175
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Depending on what program you use, if any, you can simply turn on rulers and position away. I usually use he rules to position absolutely and more often than not I get it in the right spot. The only downfall is the difference between Netscape and IE for positioning. Then I have to play around to get it just perfect.
    Maelstrom Personal - Apparition Visions
    Development - PhP || Mysql || Zend || Devshed
    Unix - FreeBSD || FreeBsdForums || Man Pages
    They made me a sitepoint Mentor - Feel free to PM me or Email me and I will see if I can help.

  7. #7
    Prolific Blogger silver trophy Technosailor's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Location
    Before These Crowded Streets
    Posts
    9,446
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Dreamweaver...theres nothing in there with rulers, right?

    sketch
    Aaron Brazell
    Technosailor




Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •