SitePoint Sponsor

User Tag List

Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: PHP newbie

  1. #1
    Gone!
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Location
    Witty Location Parody
    Posts
    3,889
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    PHP newbie needs quick help!

    Hi i have installed Pphp and MySQl as per Kevins book on my Win 2k machine running IIS.

    I created the test page "today.php" but when I try and run it i get the 500 error message in IE6.

    In Kevins book he mentions that when I stalling MySQL on Win2k that you have to modify a file cal my-example.cnf. But (I did download and install the correct version) I cannot find that file, it simply isnt present after installation. Would that have something to do with it?

    I have performed all the oter commands etc on the MySQL interface and that all works fine but still no joy.

    Any ideas??? Everything was going well unitli got to this part and Im anxious to proceed!

    Thanks

  2. #2
    SitePoint Guru Marc's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2000
    Location
    New York
    Posts
    765
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Hi!

    First of all, I reccommend you get phpdev (which will simulate apache with php and mySQL). Click here to go get that now (especially if you are running this server only to test and learn, not actually host a website)

    However, you may want to switch over to actually running apache and installing it all yourself like in Kevin's book.. you probably should either way because mySQL in phpdev isnt 100% consistent.

    Look in your mysql/bin folder for a program called winmysqladmin.exe

    This should be pretty helpful tool... it docks nicely into the task tray and you can right click it and select stop the service which will close mysql, or right click it and select close this tool, which will close that handy tool (or both).

    But I had the same problem as you, I couldn't find a my_example.cnf!

    Somehow, though, it works

    I believe there is a file in phpdev called my_example.cnf, you might want to look at that..

    Hope this helps!
    Marc Gugliuzza
    marc.gugliuzza.com



  3. #3
    SitePoint Wizard Defender1's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Location
    My Computer
    Posts
    2,808
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    with windows i'm pretty sure you have to run php as a cgi module.
    in which case you'll need to chmod it to 755 so it's excecutable.
    Defender's Designs
    I'm Getting Married!

    Not-so-patiently awaiting Harry Potter Book 7 *sigh*

  4. #4
    Mlle. Ledoyen silver trophy seanf's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    7,168
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    No you won't. Just right click on the file and make sure it is not "Read-only"

    Sean
    Harry Potter

    -- You lived inside my world so softly
    -- Protected only by the kindness of your nature

  5. #5
    SitePoint Evangelist =X='s Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Posts
    487
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I have mysql and php installed on my win2k system, since I'm a newbie with servers etc I took a very simple but for this task (offline php script testing) it's very good

    www.xitami.com

    all the installation instructions are there...

    after this you install php, and they ask you during this installation for wich server it should be configured, iis, apache etc but xitami is there too so select this!

    then just follow the xitami instructions on how to test your scripts!!

    (for mysql to work you need to execute it first, winmysqladmin.exe if I'm correct is the file to execute...)

    hope this helps!

    (ps DO NOT use xitami on win98se cuz it f*** up my whole system when I did this, and I was not the only one...on win2k however I didn't have this problem)
    PHP-Webservices - Profesional Hosting and Programming of sites.

  6. #6
    SitePoint Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Posts
    67
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    .

    When ever I get a 500 error it's because I have mis-typed the URL on the local server make sure you are typing http://localhost/today.php

    hope this helps
    Dean

  7. #7
    Gone!
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Location
    Witty Location Parody
    Posts
    3,889
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Thanks guys, Ill have aplay around and see what i can do.

    I defiantely typed the url correctly but still no joy. Ah well thanks again.

  8. #8
    Dumb PHP codin' cat
    Join Date
    Aug 2000
    Location
    San Diego, CA
    Posts
    5,460
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    with windows i'm pretty sure you have to run php as a cgi module.
    in which case you'll need to chmod it to 755 so it's excecutable.
    Absolutley false. You can run php as an apapche module very easily, however most of the installers out there will install as CGI instead. chmod is for unix you can't chmod on Windows.
    Please don't PM me with questions.
    Use the forums, that is what they are here for.

  9. #9
    Dumb PHP codin' cat
    Join Date
    Aug 2000
    Location
    San Diego, CA
    Posts
    5,460
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    These are detailed instructions on how to get Apache and PHP installed on Win2k without an installer. The versions in here that are referenced are older than what is currently available, get the newest versions as the instrcutions don't change.

    http://shanx.com/php/install_win32.txt


    MySQl is a snap after getting the other two going there is even an instalelr that comes with the distro now.
    Please don't PM me with questions.
    Use the forums, that is what they are here for.


Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •