SitePoint Sponsor

User Tag List

SitePoint Zealot
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

Internationalization and multiple languages on one site

I would like to create a site where the user can select the language on the fly and all navigation elements and forms would be in that language. i.e I would like users to be able to browse my site in different languages.

What is the best way to acheive this? Create a different page for each language? Is there some way to use the same page, but just have the navigation elements show up in the language of choice? Are there any tools out there that can help with this.

Forgive me if I am not making myself very clear, as I am not a developer. Oh, and the reason I am posting this here because I am already running the PHP based script in English. Now, I want to expand the languages.

Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Generally speaking, it's best to build multi-language support in from day one, but it sounds like it's too late for you to do that.

Normally you would refer to all on-screen text (error messages, menu items, form prompts etc.) using variables, and then including the variables from an external file. The language file included would depend on the language selected.

e.g.

file: lang.en
    Code:
    $error_01 = "Enter all information"
    file: lang.fr
    Code:
    $error_01 = "Écrivez toute l'information"
    file: lang.es
    Code:
    $error_01 = "Incorpore toda la información"
    file: index.htm
    Code:

include "lang.fr";

if(a !=  b){echo $error_01;}

Andy
    From the English nation to a US location.

Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    You could include the navigation from different files depending on the language, you could use a template system and reference the templates accordingly or or or. It all depends on your current approach to the site, meaning whether you already use templates or the like.

SitePoint Zealot
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)