User Tag List

SitePoint Evangelist perpetual_dream's Avatar
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

best PHP book for a beginner?

Hey,
    I'd like to ask what is the best php beginner bok available? one with a lot of practical examples and which helps building a CMS. I'm not a total newbie when it comes to coding I have a little experience when it comes to asp but i want 2start with php? what about sitepoint book? what else do u recommend for a beginner after which one can feel confident... ?
    Thanks
    Tanzeelnet - Best arabic downloadsite
    Linux Hosting |Free Downloads |

SitePoint Wizard Pedro Monteiro's Avatar
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Strongly recommend "Sams - PHP and MySQL Web Development".

Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I read that a long time ago and i wasn't impressed

SitePoint Wizard Pedro Monteiro's Avatar
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Mmmm I quite enjoyed it. I would safely say Sitepoint must have quality literature on the subject.

SitePoint Zealot
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    http://www.sitepoint.com/books/phpant1/ - sitepoints php books, they seems ok, but i can't say for sure because i havn't read them.

I'd advise just looking around for tutorials and example, and then start making small projects to help you learn.

SitePoint Wizard
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I read that a long time ago and i wasn't impressed
    Sam's books can change a lot from year to year. I've paged through the current Sam's "PHP and MySQL Web Development", which appears to be designed to NOT look like a Sam's book, e.g. the typical "Learn this Computer Language in 24 hours", and it seemed quite good. In fact, I didn't even know it was a Sam's book or else I never would have picked it up.

Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)