SitePoint Sponsor

User Tag List

Results 1 to 9 of 9
  1. #1
    SitePoint Addict
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Posts
    215
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    5 Second Timer - Counddown

    Hi all,

    I need to create a PHP page with 5 seconds of timer, which will cound down to 0, and then reload the page.

    Any suggestion on How to go about it and what php Commands or Functions are availabel for use???

    Thanks.

  2. #2
    SitePoint Evangelist ClickHeRe's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Ottawa, Canada
    Posts
    580
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Javascript is the tool for that, not PHP.
    David

  3. #3
    SitePoint Guru themightystephen's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    England
    Posts
    608
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Do you want it just to happen once or every 5 seconds?
    Get your heelys now at flywalk.co.uk - But what are heelys?
    Heelys are simply shoes with wheels in the heels!

    Flywalk.co.uk - The UK Heelys Retailer

  4. #4
    ✯✯✯ silver trophybronze trophy php_daemon's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Posts
    5,284
    Mentioned
    2 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Simply use a html meta refresh tag:
    HTML Code:
    <meta http-equiv="refresh" content="5">

  5. #5
    SitePoint Guru themightystephen's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    England
    Posts
    608
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I was thinking the same php_daemon but I'm not certain that that is exactly what he wants...
    Get your heelys now at flywalk.co.uk - But what are heelys?
    Heelys are simply shoes with wheels in the heels!

    Flywalk.co.uk - The UK Heelys Retailer

  6. #6
    SitePoint Addict
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Posts
    215
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Thanks for your responses.
    <meta http-equiv="refresh" content="5">
    Can I use the above Syntex, if I include this page inside another PHP page? Otherwise, I am trying out Javascript option. I want to refresh it every 5 seconds.

    Thanks.

  7. #7
    SitePoint Guru themightystephen's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    England
    Posts
    608
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Just put it inside the head tag like this.

    HTML Code:
    <!DOCTYPE html PUBLIC "-//W3C//DTD XHTML 1.0 Transitional//EN" "http://www.w3.org/TR/xhtml1/DTD/xhtml1-transitional.dtd">
    <html xmlns="http://www.w3.org/1999/xhtml">
    <head>
    <title>title</title>
    <meta http-equiv="refresh" content="5">
    </head>
    <body>
    content
    </body>
    </html>
    You dont need PHP at all!
    Get your heelys now at flywalk.co.uk - But what are heelys?
    Heelys are simply shoes with wheels in the heels!

    Flywalk.co.uk - The UK Heelys Retailer

  8. #8
    SitePoint Addict
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Posts
    215
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Thank You. themightystephen & php_daemon

    <meta http-equiv="refresh" content="5">

    Did the Trick. You people can not make any more simpler than that. Thank You.

  9. #9
    SitePoint Guru themightystephen's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    England
    Posts
    608
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    No problem.
    Get your heelys now at flywalk.co.uk - But what are heelys?
    Heelys are simply shoes with wheels in the heels!

    Flywalk.co.uk - The UK Heelys Retailer


Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •