SitePoint Sponsor

User Tag List

Results 1 to 8 of 8

Hybrid View

  1. #1
    SitePoint Zealot LunaC's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Posts
    176
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    javascript:resizeTo(640,480); accurate?

    My monitor doesn't go down to 640 X 480 resolution, does anyone know if writing:
    javascript:resizeTo(640,480);
    gives an accurate representation of what it should look like? Or are the images not at the right size with that work-around? It doesn't look quite right to me, but I'm not sure.

  2. #2
    1-800-JMULDER JMulder's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2001
    Location
    The Netherlands
    Posts
    1,745
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I'm not sure what you're trying to do, but it looks like you want to view sites in different resolutions including 640x480..?

    If so, you can download ProSizer from Photoshop Club, if they haven't removed the software section already.

    ProSizer let's you view sites in IE and NS from resolutions ranging from 640x480 to 1154x864 (??).
    Jeroen Mulder

    w: www.jeroenmulder.com

  3. #3
    SitePoint Zealot LunaC's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Posts
    176
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Yeah, I'm, trying to test that my sites work properly on a lower resolution, I can set my browser higher, but it just doesn't go that low

    I'll take a look at that program, Thanks!

  4. #4
    SitePoint Wizard creole's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2000
    Location
    Nashvegas Baby!
    Posts
    7,845
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I can't say exactly how accurate it is, but I think it would be plus or minus less than 5 pixels.
    Adobe Certified Coldfusion MX 7 Developer
    Adobe Certified Advanced Coldfusion MX Developer
    My Blog (new) | My Family | My Freelance | My Recipes

  5. #5
    SitePoint Zealot Megs's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2000
    Location
    Kitchener, Ontario
    Posts
    179
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Intersting... doing a little experimenting here and I'm finding that it goes about 5 px too small both horiztonally and vertically in NS 6.1 but it seems to be perfect in IE.

    (I just did resizeTo 800x600 and then went back up to 1024 which is what my resolution is set at and compared this to a maximized window)
    Megan Jack
    Proud to be Canadian
    http://www.meganjack.com
    Moderator at The Webmaster Forums and EDevCafe Forums

  6. #6
    SitePoint Zealot LunaC's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Posts
    176
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I finally got my monitor to resize down and discovered that the prosizer doesn't change the size of the graphics to show what different resolutions would see. (The images, text etc. changes with resolution, but proziser only changes the window size).

    Depending on the part images play in the design that could make or break the site.

  7. #7
    SitePoint Wizard creole's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2000
    Location
    Nashvegas Baby!
    Posts
    7,845
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Actually it's accurate. The pixel dimensions of you monitor change, but not the size of the pixel itself. On a lower resolution setting you simply see less pixels.

    It's accurate.
    Adobe Certified Coldfusion MX 7 Developer
    Adobe Certified Advanced Coldfusion MX Developer
    My Blog (new) | My Family | My Freelance | My Recipes

  8. #8
    SitePoint Zealot LunaC's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Posts
    176
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Oh... LOL! That makes sense. I totally forgot that!
    (Why is there no "slapping myself in the head" emoticon? )


Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •