User Tag List

Thread: SSL pages

SitePoint Enthusiast
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

SSL pages

Don't know if this post belongs here or in one of the development forums, but I'll try here since it's an eCommerce question.

I'm working on an eCommerce project and of course I am going to need to have some secure pages for collection of address and payment info from the user. I've searched the articles here on this topic, but all I can see so far is that I need a host that supports SSL and I need to get a certificate.

What else is there to SSL? Is there some HTML or other code that tells the browser to start encrypting? Does anyone have an example or a link to a good tutuorial on the basics? I don't need a shopping cart (there is only one product for sale) so I was planning to just code the order entry page. Any reasons not to? I'm pretty comfortable with HTML and I've been programming in different languages for several years, just new to the web stuff, so I shouldn't need too much handholding.

Also, my client wants to use Skipjack (www.skipjack.com) as the payment gateway. Anyone worked with them before?

Thanks in advance!
    Dave

Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Typically you (or your host) installs your SSL cert on the server then you call (link) to the secure pages by using the https prefix. The actual details will depend on your server or host.

But no, you don't have to code anything into the html to encrypt the info.
    Ocean View Host - Affordable web hosting plans for any business.
    Modern Technology, Old Fashioned Value & Service!
    U.S. Merchant Services - Reliable merchant account services for all business!
    Quality People Providing A Quality Service!

SitePoint Enthusiast
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    So is the cert just a file?