SitePoint Sponsor

User Tag List

Page 5 of 5 FirstFirst 12345
Results 101 to 112 of 112

Thread: Zend Framework

  1. #101
    SitePoint Wizard
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    3rd rock from the sun
    Posts
    1,005
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I'm sorry but what do you mean, compared to what?

    -Straight sql and mysql_fetch_object() calls?
    -PDO and placeholders

    or do you mean iterative over "fluent"
    isempty()

  2. #102
    SitePoint Wizard Ren's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    1,060
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by pixelsoul
    Looks interesting

    Can anybody explain what is the advantage with:

    PHP Code:
    // $select is now a Zend_Db_Select_PdoMysql object

    // SELECT *
    //     FROM round_table
    //     WHERE noble_title = "Sir"
    //     ORDER BY first_name
    //     LIMIT 10 OFFSET 20
    //

    // you can use an iterative style...
    $select->from('round_table''*');
    $select->where('noble_title = ?''Sir');
    $select->order('first_name');
    $select->limit(10,20);

    // ...or a "fluent" style:
    $select->from('round_table''*')
           ->
    where('noble_title = ?''Sir')
           ->
    order('first_name')
           ->
    limit(10,20); 
    I can't see any benefits of using a query like this?
    I dont think there is any benefit from using SQL, either really. I suppose it could be RDBMs independant way of having SQL, like some RDBMS's don't have LIMIT or OFFSET, so they're emulated, but ZF seems todo none of this.

  3. #103
    SitePoint Guru
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    Netherlands
    Posts
    672
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Ah i see so if you used a different rdbms you would only need to change limit and order functions instead of each query...

    I wonder how much overhead this gives instead of just typing the sql query though..
    Go visit my site :-D you know you want to ;-)
    www.mech7.net

  4. #104
    SitePoint Wizard Ren's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    1,060
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by pixelsoul
    Ah i see so if you used a different rdbms you would only need to change limit and order functions instead of each query...
    Wouldn't have to change anything, the Select object would do it for you.

  5. #105
    SitePoint Wizard silver trophy kyberfabrikken's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    Copenhagen, Denmark
    Posts
    6,157
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by pixelsoul
    I wonder how much overhead this gives instead of just typing the sql query though..
    Compared to sending the query over tcp/ip to the database-server and waiting for the reply ? Negligible.

  6. #106
    SitePoint Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Posts
    1
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Zend Framework Yahoo Group

    All are welcome to join the 'email-based' user-group and discuss the PHP's framework of the future - Zend Framework:

    http://groups.yahoo.com/group/zend

  7. #107
    SitePoint Wizard silver trophy kyberfabrikken's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    Copenhagen, Denmark
    Posts
    6,157
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I would prefer using the official channels, such as the mailinglist: general-subscribe@lists.zend.com

  8. #108
    SitePoint Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Posts
    1
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I appreciate the earlier post where the guy mentioned CakePHP as I think there isn't 1 solution for everyone. Choice and diversity makes PHP as a language, the winner, in the end. However, I do think he could have been more tactful and not claim that cake is superior to the Zend framework, which obviously, it isn't.

    I actually first heard of the zend framework from another related project PHP Object Generator (POG). Kudos to the guys, (or guy?) behind POG

  9. #109
    SitePoint Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Rotterdam
    Posts
    31
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Can some1 help me with install Zend Frameworks?
    I want to use Zend_Mail(); module
    Here is what i used:
    Code:
    <?php
    require_once 'Zend/Mail.php'; 
    $mail = new Zend_Mail(); 
    $mail->setBodyText('This is the text of the mail.'); 
    $mail->setFrom('rusbnl@rusbnl.com', 'Some Sender'); 
    $mail->addTo('some@hotmail.com', 'Some Recipient'); 
    $mail->setSubject('TestSubject'); 
    $mail->send();
    ?>
    But it shows me this:
    Code:
    Parse error: parse error, expecting `T_OLD_FUNCTION' or `T_FUNCTION' or `T_VAR' or `'}'' in /home/httpd/vhosts/rusbnl.com/httpdocs/Zend/Mail.php on line 59
    
    Fatal error: Cannot instantiate non-existent class: zend_mail in /home/httpd/vhosts/rusbnl.com/httpdocs/maill.php on line 3
    Here you can see it:
    http://www.rusbnl.com/maill.php

    I've downloaded ZF 0.1.3 version and have nothing changed init.

    What do i need to do to make it working?

    Already thanks!

  10. #110
    SitePoint Evangelist
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    Melbourne, Australia
    Posts
    440
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by miggy
    Code:
    Parse error: parse error, expecting `T_OLD_FUNCTION' or `T_FUNCTION' or `T_VAR' or `'}'' in /home/httpd/vhosts/rusbnl.com/httpdocs/Zend/Mail.php on line 59
    
    Fatal error: Cannot instantiate non-existent class: zend_mail in /home/httpd/vhosts/rusbnl.com/httpdocs/maill.php on line 3
    Are you using PHP5?

    Line 59 is somewhere around where the class definition starts. I suspect it's one of the class variable declarations. Rather than using "var", it says "static" or "protected". PHP4 does not understand these terms.
    Zealotry is contingent upon 100 posts and addiction 200?

  11. #111
    SitePoint Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Rotterdam
    Posts
    31
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I am using PHP4. So what do i need to do to make it work?

  12. #112
    SitePoint Evangelist
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    Melbourne, Australia
    Posts
    440
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by miggy
    I am using PHP4. So what do i need to do to make it work?
    Use PHP5.

    OK, I know that's not helpful if, for various reasons, you're committed to PHP4. But Zend Framework uses features of PHP5 which are simply not available in PHP4 and which, as you've seen, cause parse errors (that is, the source files themselves won't even be loaded without error).

    You probably should have read this:
    What version of PHP is required to run the Zend Framework?
    The Zend Framework is compatible with PHP 5.0.4 and above. PHP 5.1 can be used but is not a requirement. Zend Framework is also tested against the current version of Zend Core. Sorry, PHP 4 will not be supported.
    Zealotry is contingent upon 100 posts and addiction 200?


Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •