SitePoint Sponsor

User Tag List

Results 1 to 8 of 8

Hybrid View

  1. #1
    We like music. weirdbeardmt's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2001
    Location
    Channel Islands Girth: Footlong
    Posts
    5,882
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    scrolling within a div

    is this possible?

    I am using javascript to show and hide various sections of my site (using the mm_showhide script) i.e. on a particular mouseover or click different information is displayed. fairly standard i'm sure.

    but I have the box that it is displayed in set at certain height, and want to be able to scroll the text within this box, if there is too much text.

    any help suggestions appreciated

    EDIT -- just noticed how similar this is to another thread below I think (about the showing/hiding tabs etc!)
    I swear to drunk I'm not God.
    Matt's debating is not a crime
    Hint: Don't buy a stupid dwarf Clicky

  2. #2
    ********* obeah makeda's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Location
    rollin' on dubs
    Posts
    492
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    you may have solved this but...it has been my experience that if you specify the height of your div:

    <div style="height: 50px"></div>

    and then put something inside of it, scrollbars will appear dynamically when they are needed-ie the content inside of the div tags is too long or too wide.

  3. #3
    We like music. weirdbeardmt's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2001
    Location
    Channel Islands Girth: Footlong
    Posts
    5,882
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    that is what i was using, and it didn't happen. I have since found there is a style element which is overflow: scrolling (or something) which will make it scroll, but to do it efficiently and cross-browser it needs to be done using script.

    Ive got it somewhere if anyone wants it.
    I swear to drunk I'm not God.
    Matt's debating is not a crime
    Hint: Don't buy a stupid dwarf Clicky

  4. #4
    SitePoint Zealot
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Location
    Southampton, UK
    Posts
    121
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    will using an iframe get the required result?

  5. #5
    ********* obeah makeda's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Location
    rollin' on dubs
    Posts
    492
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    thats right, i forgot about that...style="overflow: auto;"

  6. #6
    We like music. weirdbeardmt's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2001
    Location
    Channel Islands Girth: Footlong
    Posts
    5,882
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Originally posted by ollspin
    will using an iframe get the required result?
    it would create the effect, but isn't much help because it is deprecated (and not NS compatible). I think I've got it taken care off now -- thanks for the help guys.
    I swear to drunk I'm not God.
    Matt's debating is not a crime
    Hint: Don't buy a stupid dwarf Clicky

  7. #7
    SitePoint Wizard Aes's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Location
    Oklahoma
    Posts
    3,392
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    The iFrame tag works in Netscape 6.x+ as well as Mozilla and Internet Explorer.

    If you really want some help, send a private message to Sparkie -- some of her sites use them and they work great.

    Colin Anderson
    Ambition is a poor excuse for those without
    sense enough to be lazy.

  8. #8
    We like music. weirdbeardmt's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2001
    Location
    Channel Islands Girth: Footlong
    Posts
    5,882
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    thanks for the tip aes. will do!
    I swear to drunk I'm not God.
    Matt's debating is not a crime
    Hint: Don't buy a stupid dwarf Clicky


Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •