User Tag List

SitePoint Enthusiast
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

Question Web Application Design - Frames or CSS

Hi,

I've been programming Database Applications since 1993 but I'm pretty new to Web Programming. I am trying to determine the best path to take regarding the development of an Application that will be accessed by Web Browsers for a client of mine in Australia.

My client's requirement is for people to be able to access a Task Driven Application, rather than a Content-Based Web Site, from anywhere by using the Internet and Browsers. The application is being developed with VS .Net 2003. The people who were previously working on it have not done a very good job, I think, and it's not User Friendly for such an application. They basically have one aspx Page and "poke" Web Controls into a Table on the fly using VB .Net.

My intial thoughts have been that such an Application would be more easily facilitated and maintained with the use of Frames loaded with aspx pages.

There is a lot of discussion that CSS is the way to go with Web Development but the reading I have done, so far, suggests that different hacks are required for different browsers as well as general other fudging required to emulate the use of Frames.

The data is mostly of a hierachical structure. I think it would be more User Friendly if people do not have to scroll up and down a page. Once they have accessed a top level of the data they should be able to point and click to access (drill down to) related sub-levels of the data within a Frame or Nested Frames on the same page as the top level data in a similar fashion as you would use Nested Forms in an Access Front-End.

I have an Access 2000 mock up of this structure if anyone would like to take a look at my layout proposal. http://www.scantag.com.au/Documents/...eInterface.mdb

Is it possible to emulate Nested Frames with CSS?