SitePoint Sponsor

User Tag List

Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    SitePoint Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Posts
    1
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Unhappy InstantRails-1.0-final-win

    Hi all you experts,

    I've just installed InstantRails-1.0-final-win.

    Everything went well while I was following the "installation for rails.html" until I got to the end of it ....

    QUOTE
    * Click on the Start SCGI button. A minimized console window will appear. This contains the cookbook web app running through an SCGI server.

    * Wait a few seconds to make sure the cookbook web app is fully initialized (nothing is displayed in the console window). Open your browser and go to:

    HTTP://www.mycookbook.com

    You should now be using a running Rails application!

    If not, perhaps you have an already-running Apache instance. Shut this down, and InstantRails? should magically work. Poke around in the menus of Instant Rails to see what's there.

    UNQUOTE

    BUT IT DIDN'T SAY "HOW TO SHUT DOWN THE ALREADY RUNNING APACHE INSTANCE" which was the "cookbook" in the test directory.

    I've tweaked it every which way, now I'm STUCK !!

    Any help out there I would be extremely grateful !!

    regards
    almabiz

  2. #2
    ☆★☆★ silver trophy vgarcia's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    in transition
    Posts
    21,235
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)
    Did you add a line in your hosts file to direct mycookbook.com to 127.0.0.1?

  3. #3
    SitePoint Guru mattymcg's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Melbourne, Australia
    Posts
    574
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    almabiz did you have Apache installed or running before you tried installing rails?

    On Windows there is usually a little control panel in your taskbar that lets you start and stop Apache servers. Failing that, as a last result you could always kill the Apache process from your Task Manager.
    I design beautiful, usable interfaces. Oh, and I wrote a kids' book.
    Follow me on Twitter.
    Read my blog.
    Buy my book, Charlie Weatherburn and the Flying Machine.

  4. #4
    SitePoint Guru
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Posts
    986
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    InstantRails might not be the easiest way to install Rails. I installed it this way:

    1. Download + install the ruby one click installer
    2. Open command prompt and type "gem install rails"

    Then you can run applications on webrick.

  5. #5
    SitePoint Evangelist
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    California
    Posts
    440
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by Fenrir2
    InstantRails might not be the easiest way to install Rails. I installed it this way:

    1. Download + install the ruby one click installer
    2. Open command prompt and type "gem install rails"

    Then you can run applications on webrick.
    When I was on windows I also used this. It was great and easy to setup I recommend that over InstantRails.
    Happy switcher to OS X running on a MacBook Pro.

    Zend Certified Engineer

  6. #6
    SitePoint Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    San Diego
    Posts
    11
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I've been using InstantRails for a while now and have been very happy with the application.
    Search Engine Marketing Blog
    Chic for Cheap - Shopping Coupons and Discussion


Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •