SitePoint Sponsor

User Tag List

Thread: 真Freedom??

Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

真Freedom??

I've just heard there is a prohibition (or recommendation, I heard both) for radio stations to stop playing some "unappropiate" songs. Not to mention movies, but this is about music.

I thought they'd be songs about war, antiAmerican songs, and things like that... And I was shocked when I saw songs like Tears In Heaven, Imagine, Dust In The Wind, New York, New York, and every Rage Against The Machine song (ok, they're quite anticapitalists).

Being a musician myself and a huge music lover above all, I can hardly believe this is true.

Will you allow your media to choose which mood you should have, or who/what should you be angry with?

Is that the freedom you've been talking about here the last days?

If ANY of you think this is correct or necessary, I'll be more than curious to read your opinions.

In my opinion, this is the same kind of mass manipulation that Hitler and many other "leaders" had used in the past. No comparison between Hitler and Bush, so don't yell at me for this.
    Carlos de la Orden
    The higher a man gets, the smaller he looks for people who can't fly.

www.aspfacil.com, el sitio para programadores ASP

SitePoint Guru
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I really think it was just a case of someone getting overzealous. I don't think it's going to have any kind of lasting effect, and most importantly, it never came from the government and no one has suggested that it did, to my knowledge. There was plenty of outcry about it, too.

http://www.snopes2.com/inboxer/hoaxes/radio.htm

Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I hope you're right, here it was given as accurate news.
    Carlos de la Orden

Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)