SitePoint Sponsor

User Tag List

Page 3 of 8 FirstFirst 1234567 ... LastLast
Results 51 to 75 of 190
  1. #51
    Employed Again Viflux's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    London, On.
    Posts
    1,127
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by Hal9k
    What? Windows 2000 support won't be phased out until 2010.
    Paid support, on top of your existing licensing costs.

    I think most companies (mine did) would rather upgrade


    On a side note, two things really annoyed me.

    1 - No mention of the fact that it would remove IE6 from my machine. GRR.
    2 - No Cancel button during the installation. GRR. GRR.

  2. #52
    SitePoint Enthusiast jamiemcd's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Posts
    45
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    zoom zoom

    I thought the Zoom feature (under Page menu) was very nice.

    Also, they need to make it where you can move the tabs like Firefox 1.5.

  3. #53
    SitePoint Guru Wullie's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Location
    Greenock, Scotland
    Posts
    701
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by mPeror
    You mean something like this? it's been out for a long time.
    Cool link mPeror
    ASP.NET Freelance Web Developer
    Bored? Check out my photography folio at Flickr

  4. #54
    SitePoint Guru momos's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    Belgium
    Posts
    919
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Getting better... but way to slow to keep up with Firefox. Money does not always make a difference.

  5. #55
    SitePoint Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Posts
    21
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    So many javascript changes, my ajax needs redoing on all my sites!

  6. #56
    ☆★☆★ silver trophy vgarcia's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    in transition
    Posts
    21,235
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by copter
    So many javascript changes, my ajax needs redoing on all my sites!
    Why?

  7. #57
    SitePoint Wizard drhowarddrfine's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Posts
    3,438
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by momos
    Getting better... but way to slow to keep up with Firefox. Money does not always make a difference.
    It doesn't keep up with Opera or Safari either. Don't know about Konqueror and the others.

  8. #58
    SitePoint Zealot Zaskoda's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    156
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by jamiemcd
    I thought the Zoom feature (under Page menu) was very nice.

    Also, they need to make it where you can move the tabs like Firefox 1.5.
    Opera did zoom a long time ago... I thought it was the coolest feature ever... then after the *new* wore off I never really used it again.

  9. #59
    SitePoint Enthusiast stef686's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Posts
    86
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Is it just me or do no CSS rollover effects work??

  10. #60
    Entrepreneur Spencer F.'s Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    New York, NY
    Posts
    571
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I haven't tried it just yet, but I have friends that tell me that it's crash happy.
    + Carbonmade - Easiest way to display and manage your portfolio.
    + Burstoid - Design magazine.

    + twitter/spencerfry

  11. #61
    SitePoint Guru
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    CT
    Posts
    643
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    there's a ton of CSS bugs in ie7.

    * html { } isn't read by ie7, yet, it still doesn't render them properly.

    there will be a new slew of hacks for this POS.

    MS should stick to doing something besides making software....

  12. #62
    SitePoint Enthusiast jamiemcd's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Posts
    45
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by Spencer F.
    I haven't tried it just yet, but I have friends that tell me that it's crash happy.
    IE 7 Beta 2 crashed on my computer rather quickly. I checked it out for a few minutes to see how my sites rendered and then uninstalled it. I would have left it installed if I could have also ran IE6.

    25 posts!!! At long last, I can ditch the Santa Suit.

  13. #63
    SitePoint Evangelist Worldbuilder's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Boston, MA
    Posts
    481
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I just installed it on my workstation at work (ertainly ain't gonna risk wy workstation at home). Not bad overall. No crashes yet, no problems yet.

    I haven't tried any development items as of yet, but it is definitely faster than IE6. Tabbed browsing is virtually identical (so far) to that of FF, BUT if you think FF has bad memory leaks and uses entirely too many resources, IE7 is currently using 103MB with only two tabs open... In FF, I don't get over 100MB until I have a dozen tabs open...

    As of yet, that's my only complaint... But I'm sure I'll come up with some mroe.

    Chris

  14. #64
    SitePoint Wizard DougBTX's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Location
    Bath, UK
    Posts
    2,498
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    If you'd like to keep IE6 while you try out IE7: http://digg.com/software/MS_Official...ecomment956833

    It seems like they've done some good work on the CSS front, if you use positioniseverything.net as something to measure it by. Note that their CSS fixes only apply in "strict" mode, so if you're triggering strict mode but still using poor quality CSS on the basis that that's a good thing or because you don't know any better, expect your pages to fall to pieces.

    Douglas
    Hello World

  15. #65
    SitePoint Enthusiast jpatterson's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    Birmingham, UK
    Posts
    86
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I know it's not the most important issue with the new Beta, but why did they change the name from Microsoft Internet Explorer to Windows Internet Explorer?

    Also:

    Is it just me or do no CSS rollover effects work??
    Yea!! I've found a few that work on my own server but there are also a few that don't. I have a couple of pages where the border changes from white (effectively transparent) to green - but it doesn't seem to work in IE7.

  16. #66
    I'm in your computer! Halo-13's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    Minneapolis, MN
    Posts
    168
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    boooo

    Quote Originally Posted by J Windebank
    To uninstall: Start -> Control Panel -> Add or Remove Programs. Tick the box at the top "Show Updates" and you will find "Internet 7 Explorer Beta 2" under "Windows XP - Software Updates".

    As you can tell my copy has already gone bye byes...
    Thanks for posting this. You know I have never noticed that "Show Updates" check bock before. I was having problems trying to find out how to un-install this POS of a web browser.

    OK, I know it's in beta but I really don't have my hopes up for this product and it really disappoints me that Microsoft of all companies can't get something as simple as a web browser done right. I find it funny that this company is one of the big investors of W3C and their product doesn't properly follow the standards.
    Last edited by Halo-13; Feb 1, 2006 at 11:20.
    Halo-13 Network
    ArcadeApe

  17. #67
    SitePoint Enthusiast jpatterson's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    Birmingham, UK
    Posts
    86
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Haha, also, how weird is it that Google is the default search engine rather than MSN?

  18. #68
    SitePoint Evangelist Worldbuilder's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Boston, MA
    Posts
    481
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Here's something else I notice... I use IG (personalized Google page) as my home page. In IE7, none of the feeds I get through ig are updating... I've had the wame things showing on ig for 5 hours now even though I know for a fact that content from those feeds has changed...

    Anyone else having IE7 IG issues?

    Chris

  19. #69
    Afraid I can't do that Dave Hal9k's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    East Anglia, England.
    Posts
    640
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by Viflux
    Paid support, on top of your existing licensing costs.
    Fair point.

    For those who can't be bothered to install some, screenshots for you.

  20. #70
    SitePoint Addict NikoB's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Austria
    Posts
    211
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    @css hacks for ie7:
    these exist already... just use conditional comments: http://www.quirksmode.org/css/condcom.html
    the only thing i am really curious about is how often we will have to use this... and when the first service pack for ie7 is coming out
    Corinis OpenSource Community & Content Management
    http://www.corinis.org

  21. #71
    ☆★☆★ silver trophy vgarcia's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    in transition
    Posts
    21,235
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)
    For those of you who don't want to overwrite your IE6 install with IE7:

    * Extract IE7B2P-WindowsXP-x86-enu.exe to a temporary folder.
    * Working within' the extracted directory, delete the following:
    o update\
    o install.ins
    o spmsg.dll
    o spuninst.exe
    o spupdsvc.exe
    * Create a blank text file within' the directory and rename it to iexplore.exe.local.
    * Move the directory to a location in which you want to store the now standalone version of Internet Explorer 7 Preview (eg. X\IE7 BETA2).
    * Execute iexplore.exe.

  22. #72
    He's No Good To Me Dead silver trophybronze trophy stymiee's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Slave I
    Posts
    23,424
    Mentioned
    2 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)
    IE 7 rendering of the acid 2 test: https://bugzilla.mozilla.org/attachm...73&action=view

    Still awful

    Maybe they should call this IE 6.5 since they really aren't making any real progress on their rendering engine.

  23. #73
    SitePoint Wizard drhowarddrfine's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Posts
    3,438
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by stymiee
    IE 7 rendering of the acid 2 test: https://bugzilla.mozilla.org/attachm...73&action=view

    Still awful

    Maybe they should call this IE 6.5 since they really aren't making any real progress on their rendering engine.
    Exactly what I've been saying all along. IE7 is just IE6 with a few fixes and blinking lights.

  24. #74
    100% Windoze-free earther's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Linuxland
    Posts
    2,788
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    CSS rollover/dropdown fubared

    I haven't installed IE7 but did test with BrowserCam. The CSS horizontal rollover/dropdown navigation on www.prodigytek.com is fubared. It is a combo of Suckerfish and Paul O'Brien's code and took hours of hair-pulling to get it to work cross-browser in the first place. I can't bear the thought of having to take this back to the drawing board.

    Here is the screen capture for those of you who haven't installed.

    Could someone who has IE 7 running please take a look and confirm just how bad it is? Thanks.

    MS is certainly providing incentive for a career change (or retirement!) . . .

  25. #75
    The Mind's I ® silver trophy Dark Tranquility's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    KSA - UAE
    Posts
    9,457
    Mentioned
    8 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)
    yeah it is unwise to change/fix/alter anything now ! be patient !


Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •