User Tag List

Hybrid View

Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

Recommendation for rubby Editor/IDE

Hi to all,
    I am interested to know which editor/IDE do you recommend for ruby development.

I did a google for "ruby ide" and found a good list from rubygarden .

It covers extensions for editors and a short list of IDEs. Any one here have experience with the following IDE:

FreeRide
    Ruby eclipse
    Mondrian

Some old threads that covers this topic were:
    This thread
    and
    this thread
    Cheers! ..::redhex::..
    Wine Event Company|redhex.hedir:A candid view on hedir
    Fantasy Football | Online Classifieds

SitePoint Member
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I am very happy using RadRails

http://www.radrails.org/

SitePoint Guru silver trophy Luke Redpath's Avatar
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    RadRails is one of the best I've come across although its still a bit buggy.

As a general editor I like jEdit.

If you are on a Mac it has to be Textmate.

SitePoint Enthusiast AdulteratedJedi's Avatar
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by Luke Redpath
    If you are on a Mac it has to be Textmate.
    I second the recommendation of TextMate

AJ

Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)
    TextMate if you're on a Mac.

For the rest of us, it's either jEdit with Ruby plugins (not bad but not great, nothing Rails-specific), RadRails (good but only at version 0.5 and not feature-complete), or we make do with the editor we already know.

throw me a bone ... now bonefry's Avatar
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    jEdit is nice, if you know Java you can write quite powerful macros.

SitePoint Guru
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Emacs? There is a ruby-mode (written by Matz), and there are other modes with auto-completion, etc. I have not used it, but it might be a good choice.